The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 12, 2008, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 155
Help with a Sitch..

R1 @ 3B;
BR is walked;
As BR jogs to 1B, R1 steps off 3B a few feet;
Ball is returned to the pitcher in the circle;
Without stopping, BR rounds 1B and jogs to 2B;
R1 just stands there, a few feet off 3B;
F1 doesn't do anything .. just stands there in the circle;
BR rounds 2B and starts to jog toward 3B;
F1 still just stands there and watches;
R1 hasn't moved an inch;
BR stops just short of 3B, looks at F1, and realizing F1 isn't going to fall for it, starts to jog back to 2B;
R1 remains just where she is, still a few feet off of 3B;
BR gets to 2B and stops;
R1 then returns to 3B with a couple of seconds.

Everything is okay in this situation .. right? No LBR violation by R1 because the ball is live as long as the BR was in motion around the bases, during the brief time she is stopped between 2B and 3B and while she is returning to 2B. Once BR is stopped at 2B, R1 must quickly make up her mind what she is going to do. In this case she returned to 3B, but she could have also gone home.

I'm umpiring my first post rec. league tourney this weekend and I'm trying to think of situations that might occur and come to the proper rulings.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 12, 2008, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Speaking ASA, once the BR reached 1B and F1 had the ball in the circle, the LBR is in effect. BR continuing to run has no effect on R1. If R1 just stands there while F1 has the ball and is not making a play, R1 is out. The ball would be dead, and the BR returned to the last base reached.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 12, 2008, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
BR rounds 1B towards 2B in this sitch as described

Wade looks at R1 "girl you better do something"

thats about how long she gets then DB/R1 Out is on the way.

This is a very common LBR out by the way...I get a few every year this way.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2008, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 155
Yes, ASA.

Glad I asked .

Does R1's time begin as soon as F1 has the ball in the circle or does she get at least until the BR reaches 1st?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2008, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Once BR attains first.

By the way, this is not just ASA but all codes of which I am aware.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2008, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaellis
Yes, ASA.

Glad I asked .

Does R1's time begin as soon as F1 has the ball in the circle or does she get at least until the BR reaches 1st?
Both have to happen, so whichever happens last starts the "one-one-thousand..." on R1.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2008, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
I agree with everything posted. BUT I have a question on a hit ball. I was thinking that the LBR "waiting" to start till BR obtains first was just on a walk, I am probably wrong....so I ask does the LBR wait for BR to obtain first in all conditions or just on a walk?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2008, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 83
Just for fun, lets say that R1 stays on 3B during all of this.
Everything else in the OP happens as described with BR getting close to 3B but not touching it , then jogging back to 2B

In this case I'm thinking that we have nothing and we pitch to the next battter with runners on 2B and 3B. Correct?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with a sitch.... SeanFitzRef Basketball 4 Sat Oct 20, 2007 03:10pm
Sitch Skahtboi Softball 27 Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:11am
Sitch whiskers_ump Softball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2006 09:37pm
Sitch 2 lrpalmer3 Basketball 62 Tue Feb 15, 2005 03:57am
Sitch 1 lrpalmer3 Basketball 2 Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1