The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
At one of our local clinics, this kind of play had been discussed. For it to be an intentionally dropped ball, the ball must hit the glove. .
I know what you are trying to say, but will expand a bit on it. It does take more than just the ball hitting the glove, i.e. fielder diving to catch, hits it but doesnt catch it= not intentional drop.
A fielder is allowed to let the catchable ball drop untouched, then try to turn two. Intentionally not catching it by letting it drop untouched is not an intentional drop. Many people (Im not including you) are confused by the word "intentional". The OP is a HTBT with regards to the fielders actions....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The ASA interpretation is that an intentionally dropped ball must first be caught and THEN intentionally dropped.

Since the BR is out if the ball is caught, it would seem what ASA is doing is ruling the ball dead to prevent deceiving the runner into believing the force is on.

Otherwise, the ASA ruling makes little sense (to me, anyway).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 01:34pm
Al Al is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Send a message via Yahoo to Al
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
The ASA interpretation is that an intentionally dropped ball must first be caught and THEN intentionally dropped.

Since the BR is out if the ball is caught, it would seem what ASA is doing is ruling the ball dead to prevent deceiving the runner into believing the force is on.

Otherwise, the ASA ruling makes little sense (to me, anyway).

Dakota,

I think most umpires would have seen this as a very obvious attempt to deceive the runner at 1st. (that's why I was suprised by the no-call) She made it look like she caught the ball, then let it roll out of her glove where she could pick it up quickly. When an umpire believes this to be the case shouldn't he or she call intentional dropping. The reason I believe the call should have been made is two-fold. One: the way she set herself in position (basket catch) to easily get to the ball after letting it roll out of her glove. And two: actually letting the ball come rolling out of her glove. There was no guiding the ball to the ground, but a grasp of the ball in her glove, and then what appeared to be an intentional releasing of the ball directly in front of her. Thanks to all for all the good replies. Nothin' like fun at the ole' ball park! ...Al
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al
...There was no guiding the ball to the ground, but a grasp of the ball in her glove, and then what appeared to be an intentional releasing of the ball directly in front of her. ...
As you describe it, sounds like a catch and a voluntary release. But, definitely umpire judgment.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al
Dakota,
There was no guiding the ball to the ground, but a grasp of the ball in her glove, and then what appeared to be an intentional releasing of the ball directly in front of her. Thanks to all for all the good replies. Nothin' like fun at the ole' ball park! ...Al
Based on your original description I was picturing the ball hitting the back of the glove-hand where it could not be caught. If it was in fact in the glove and then voluntarily released, it should probably be ruled an out.

I wish the rule was written better. I played with a shortstop who had the art of guiding a ball to the ground down to a science. With a runner on first or first and second, he'd let a line drive hit the back of his glove. After the ball would drop in front of him we'd turn a double-play. Seems to be one of those ambiguous rules that I wish was less so.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
The way I've always looked at that rule was that it was intended to prevent the defense from setting up a BS double-play. There should be no reason for a defensive player to let a pop fly ball drop like that, so they remove the force out by calling a dead ball and the BR out.

My criteria for making the call are:
1 - Runner on at least 1B?
2 - Could the fielder have easily caught it?
3 - Did it touch the glove?
4 - Was it intentionally allowed to fall to the ground in a controlled manner?
5 - Did the action present an unnecessary advantage to the defense?

If my answers to all 5 questions are "yes," then I make the call.

If the fielder caught the ball and had control, then I have an out, and I make sure it's loud enough for the runner on 1B to hear it.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
The ASA interpretation is that an intentionally dropped ball must first be caught and THEN intentionally dropped.

Since the BR is out if the ball is caught, it would seem what ASA is doing is ruling the ball dead to prevent deceiving the runner into believing the force is on.

Otherwise, the ASA ruling makes little sense (to me, anyway).
#1. If the BR doesn't run out the play, they deserve zero protection from anyone or any rule. DMR, you're out.

#2. Any umpire worth a 10th of what they make for umpiring a game knows a catch and ID when they see it. It is the folks who try to overanalyze every little situation, trying to prove something that is not what they want it to be.

#3. Even as definitive as the ASA rule is, people still screw it up by overthinking a simple play. Could you imagine if the wording was extremely vague and allowed an umpire to free-lance this rule? I don't want to be the UIC trying to get an umpire off the hook when he comes up with some ridiculous interpretation on the field of which only s/he and their guardian angel are aware.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
#1. If the BR doesn't run out the play, they deserve zero protection from anyone or any rule. DMR, you're out.

#2. Any umpire worth a 10th of what they make for umpiring a game knows a catch and ID when they see it. It is the folks who try to overanalyze every little situation, trying to prove something that is not what they want it to be.

#3. Even as definitive as the ASA rule is, people still screw it up by overthinking a simple play. Could you imagine if the wording was extremely vague and allowed an umpire to free-lance this rule? I don't want to be the UIC trying to get an umpire off the hook when he comes up with some ridiculous interpretation on the field of which only s/he and their guardian angel are aware.
So that being said, what is the official interpretation from ASA? Is it that if the fielder simply catches the ball, then releases the ball to the ground voluntarily, dead ball and BR out? Maybe I have over-thought this rule.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
So that being said, what is the official interpretation from ASA? Is it that if the fielder simply catches the ball, then releases the ball to the ground voluntarily, dead ball and BR out? Maybe I have over-thought this rule.
Answered your own question
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
#1. If the BR doesn't run out the play, they deserve zero protection from anyone or any rule. DMR, you're out.
Since, by ASA interpretation and rule, the ball is caught and intentionally dropped, the BR is out on the catch. If the rule is invoked, the catch and drop did not fool the umpire - it was a catch. So, this can't be for protection of the BR.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Since, by ASA interpretation and rule, the ball is caught and intentionally dropped, the BR is out on the catch. If the rule is invoked, the catch and drop did not fool the umpire - it was a catch. So, this can't be for protection of the BR.
The protection is against an easy double play which the defense most likely will not turn if the BR runs out the play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional -> Thanks. mick Basketball 3 Wed Feb 06, 2008 06:14pm
Was It Intentional? Kaliix Baseball 7 Fri Jul 01, 2005 06:39pm
Intentional?? Mark Dexter Basketball 7 Fri Mar 28, 2003 05:44pm
Intentional or not? BigDave Basketball 20 Fri Feb 14, 2003 05:48pm
intentional & 2 T's Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 5 Wed Feb 02, 2000 12:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1