The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Did I kick it ?

ASA SP....
R1 on 2B. One hopper off the pitchers glove. Ball then hits the runner going to 3B. F6 was definetly in position to make a play on the ball till it hit the runner.

I come up with "dead ball" ,R1 is out. No one disagreed-not that that mattered- but was wondering if the pitcher touching changes anything from a normal ball hits runner deal.....

Rule 8-7-J-4 uses the intentionally in regards to a deflected batted ball....hence my not being totally sure of the deal....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Could the runner reasonably have avoided the ball? Did he even know where it was? If so, then you were correct.

However, 8-8-F:

Quote:
When a runner is hit by a fair batted ball after it touches, or is touched by, any fielder, including the pitcher, and the runner could not avoid contact with the ball.
If that sounds more like what happened, then... Yeah, you kicked it one time.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Could the runner reasonably have avoided the ball? Did he even know where it was? If so, then you were correct.

However, 8-8-F:
Now having read 8-8-F I'm changing my call to I KICKED it.

Or NOT
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2011, 09:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Simply put, the deflected ball rule applies. Unless the runner intentionally interfered, there is no interference. The ball is live and the runner is not out.

Knowing the rationale may help. On an initially batted ball, the runners are expected to watch (or at least see) the ball. So they can be called out without intent to interfere. Compare that to the deflected ball. The runner isn't required to watch the ball everlasting. Therefore, they can't be held accountable when the ball flies off in another direction, UNLESS, they saw it happen and intentionally interfered. That's because, even though they weren't required to look for the ball, they saw it anyway and "fairness" requires them to act appropriately. In this case, acting appropriately means to avoid interfering when you know you can do so.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 01, 2011, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
Simply put, the deflected ball rule applies. Unless the runner intentionally interfered, there is no interference. The ball is live and the runner is not out.

Knowing the rationale may help. On an initially batted ball, the runners are expected to watch (or at least see) the ball. So they can be called out without intent to interfere. Compare that to the deflected ball. The runner isn't required to watch the ball everlasting. Therefore, they can't be held accountable when the ball flies off in another direction, UNLESS, they saw it happen and intentionally interfered. That's because, even though they weren't required to look for the ball, they saw it anyway and "fairness" requires them to act appropriately. In this case, acting appropriately means to avoid interfering when you know you can do so.
Now that you have started posting, how about some geography and credentials in your profile or at least in an introductory post. We know who is authoritative on here, but we don't know if you are for real.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 01, 2011, 04:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Now that you have started posting, how about some geography and credentials in your profile or at least in an introductory post. We know who is authoritative on here, but we don't know if you are for real.
Is there an echo in here?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
I did read that one also

But it made no reference to a deflected batted ball. So my thinking was that 8-7-J was a more appropriate rule.

Now I would go with I DIDN'T kick it.

I'm still new enough that I haven't seen everything and, believe it or not, I haven't seen this one yet after 4 years....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
But it made no reference to a deflected batted ball. So my thinking was that 8-7-J was a more appropriate rule.
8.7.J does not apply. Keep reading, 8.7.K refers to being hit with a batted ball, but untouched.

As noted, 8.8.F is your deciding factor.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 11:33am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
I believe this rule is slightly different in NFHS for this same play... can one of you NFHS guru's post the rule reference/language about the initial play and the deflection off of F1... or possibly an NFHS case play?

Gracias
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW View Post
I believe this rule is slightly different in NFHS for this same play... can one of you NFHS guru's post the rule reference/language about the initial play and the deflection off of F1... or possibly an NFHS case play?

Gracias
FED 2-47-3 Initial Play. A fielder is considered to be making an initial play on a fair batted ball when she:
a. Has a reasonable chance to gain control of a ground ball that no other fielder (except the piterh) has touched.
b. Has a reasonable chance to catch the ball in flight or catch the ball in flight after it touches another fielder.
c. Fails to gain control of the batted ball and is within a step and a reach (in any direction) of the spot of the initial contact.

But, FED 8-8-6 has essentially the same wording as ASA on the deflected ball rule.
The runner is not out when: is hit with a fair batted ball after it touches, or is touched by, any fielder, including the pitcher, and the runner could not avoid contact with the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
8.7.J does not apply. Keep reading, 8.7.K refers to being hit with a batted ball, but untouched.

As noted, 8.8.F is your deciding factor.
Lesson learned. I did KICK IT.....

So I just have a live ball in that SITCH and let them play on ?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
Lesson learned. I did KICK IT.....

So I just have a live ball in that SITCH and let them play on ?
If you felt that the runner could not have avoided the ball, then yes, play on. Otherwise, if you felt that he intentionally got in the way, then no, your call would have been correct.

From what I read, it sounds like 8-8-F applied.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
ASA SP Runners on first and second, no outs. I am PU working w/ a partner.

Batter hit a long drive to LF. As I'm moving up the third base line, I have R1 in my vision. F7 makes an outstanding catch, back to home plate, like a wide receiver in football. I signaled and verbalized "out". R1, apparently thinking there was no chance for a catch has now rounded third. He basically gave up and did not try to return to second base.

As the ball is coming in from F7 to second base, I see R2 had just pulled up on the base. Partner is outside the baseline and now trailing R2. The infielder gets the ball and steps on second base. I called out to retire R1 on the live ball appeal. Not sure if partner also called out.

Now there is some confusion about R1 on second base. No one tagged him with the ball but F4 ran over to 1B and stepped on the base. I'm looking at my partner, and he's got nothing. We got together to discuss and I asked if he saw R1 tag up. He did not. We ended up calling R1 out for an obviously controversial triple play. Runner was not happy, claiming he did tag.

After the game, partner and I discussed. He said he had the tag at second. I asked, well, then who is supposed to take the tag at first? I think at that point he realized he messed up. We sometimes game plan that in a similar situation with the ball being hit to RF, that the BU will take the tag on the runner at second, while PU takes the tag at first given field of vision.

So a couple of things. I can't fault my partner for "getting inside" on this play. The ball off the bat to the catch was maybe 3-4 seconds. He still should have been checking the runner at first.

I usually go by the axiom of if you don't see an out, don't call an out. This case, we didn't see a tag up, and as a result, called an out.

How would others have handled this one?

Thanx.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I kick this fonzzy07 Basketball 49 Sun Jan 21, 2007 02:28pm
Kick off kkid091 Football 6 Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:22pm
Kick or no? ChuckElias Basketball 26 Mon Feb 16, 2004 01:20pm
Kick me oatmealqueen Basketball 5 Sun Feb 09, 2003 05:38pm
fan tell me i am going to kick your ass! joselirizarry Basketball 7 Wed Jan 31, 2001 08:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1