The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 01, 2008, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 77
Agreed HTBT.

However, I look at this situation as a three step approach and it all depends on the location of the ball.

1. The fielder is drawn into the path of the runner and when contact is made the fielder does not have possession of the ball. Obstruction. RS 13 F unlike 13 G does not indicate that obstruction should not be called, only do not call a crash and the runner out as a result.

2. When the ball, runner and the defensive player arrive at the same time and place, and contact is made, the umpire should not invoke the crash rule, interference, or obstruction. This is merely incidental contact, or
what some persons commonly call, “a wreck.”

3. The fielder has possession of the ball and is waiting to apply the tag when the runner crashes into the fielder. Interference and the runner is out.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Good Call / Bad Call whiskers_ump Softball 29 Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1