|
|||
I was reading the threads on McGriffs regarding the ball on home plate, and I started to wonder about the legal status of a fielder who is waiting on the ball to go foul.
R1 on 3B, B2 hits a little dribbler up the 3rd base line. F2 is standing over the slowly moving ball waiting for it to go foul. R1 is running home and unintentionally runs into F2. (Don't ask me how I know it was unintentional; it just was!) What is the call? Interference? Obstruction? Does F2 have the legal protection of a fielder attempting to make a play, or as was suggested on McGriffs, has F2 chosen to not field the ball, so there is no play, and F2 is guilty of obstruction? |
|
|||
Obstruction....
My vote would be for obstruction.... only because F2 is really making no attempt to play the ball and is just standing in the way.
Now it would appear that you're not in agreement with the obstruction answer. Soooo.... how do you see it? I'm always looking at both sides of coins and I am interested in knowing other points of view... What am I missing? cl
__________________
Chuck Lewis Ronan, MT Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend. |
|
|||
Just my opinion
I believe F2 is in the act of fielding the ball which means the runner needs to avoid my ruling "DEAD BALL INTERFERENCE" runner "OUT" if the ball is still in fair territory put the batter on 1st.
That is the way it goes through the mind today and the way I see the play going down Don |
|
|||
Re: Just my opinion
Quote:
By going to "Dead Ball"... Interference.. Then B2 position would be dependent on where the ball was at the time "Dead Ball" was called. If a "Delayed Dead Ball".... Interference call is maded, then R1 would still be out, but B2's position would be dependent on where the ball ends up naturally...
__________________
Chuck Lewis Ronan, MT Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend. |
|
|||
Chuck
At least in ASA there is no such thing as a Delayed dead ball on an interference call by a runner. So in my view you would have to rule the status of the ball(fair or foul) at the time of the interference
If the ball was in fair territory at the time I believe you would rule the runner out and award B2 1st on a FC If the ball was in foul territory at the time of interference occured I believe you would rule the R1 out and a strike on the batter The BIG boys will come in later in correct if I am wrong not sure about the foul ball ruling if you would still rule R1 out or just have a foul ball and R1 back to 3rd Thanks Don |
|
|||
Re: Chuck
Quote:
LOL.... I gues we have to wait for the "Big Guns" to get home from work.... Question... Can you have interference after the ball goes foul? cl
__________________
Chuck Lewis Ronan, MT Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend. |
|
|||
Dakota.........
I am going to use the step and a reach theory here......was the fielder in position to field the ball? If yes........then I have interference........ The offense has everything to gain by crashing or bumping the fielder in this situation........ If F2 is hovering and cannot make up her mind.....then the runner could easily go around F2 to score......if the ball rolls foul........then........no harm/no foul.......(except for the ball of course)....... Now........to answer Curious' question about calling interference if the ball is foul............ The answer would be.......NO........unless.......you believed it was about to become fair......... If you thought that the runner maliciously ran into the fielder in this situation.............you could have and ejection and a substitution to run for the ejected player........ My $0.02 Joel And not coming in from work.......but from oldests HS game........ Worst game they had this year..........they were beat before they walked on the field...........Big District Rivalry.......and #1 pitcher was not pitching......... Have NEVER seen oldest as upset as she was tonight..........She had 1 error and missed a diving catch behind third.........she also struck out twice (first time at clean-up this year)............ She also got.........an unassited DP.........made a couple of good digs in the hole at SS for assists and caught a line drive and doubled a girl off third........ Our Area UIC was the BU for the game............and gave her some encouragement after the game..........that did seem to help............. Joel [Edited by Gulf Coast Blue on Mar 12th, 2002 at 09:38 PM] |
|
|||
Quote:
First off, the runner would have to be awfully stupid to allow this to happen, intentionally or not. HTBT, but the rule states that the fielder must be attempting to (in this case) field a batted fair ball. If F2 had caught up to the rolling ball AND IT WAS OBVIOUS S/HE WAS MAKING NO ATTEMPT TO FIELD THE BATTED BALL, I would possibly rule obstruction. If F2 caught up the the rolling ball and allowed it to continue rolling, I may consider that batted ball to have passed the defender, once again, obstruction. IF THERE WAS THE REMOTEST BELIEF IN MY MIND THAT F2 was going to attempt to pick-up the ball in order to make a play, interference would be the call. All of this is predicated on the ball being fair. Rule 8.8.J specifically states the batted ball be fair unless it is a fly ball, which does not apply to this scenario. If you rule a dead ball upon contact, you must judge the ball at that moment. The rules book does not offer the authority to rule on the possibility the ball may have moved into fair territory after the fact regardless of what actually happens. Hmmm, maybe there should be a DDB for runner's interference. Like I said, HTBT.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
I'm with Mike on this.
There is a baseball play (bare with me a minute,Mike) in which F5 is watching a batted ball roll up 3rd base line wanting it to go foul. R3 has returned to the 3rd base bag, and the batted ball, still in fair territory, hits his foot while he is in contact with the bag. In baseball, the bag is not protection from being ruled out if hit by a fair batted ball. The ruling was that F5 could have fielded the ball with ordinary effort, and therefore the ball was treated as if it had passed by the fielder, and the runner was not out. This would add weight to Mikes arguements. Couple of questions though, Was the runner carrying his white cane when he ran into this fielder? And, was the cane properly padded with at least 1/2 inch of slow recovery rubber or similar material? Roger Greene |
|
|||
I got to go with Mike and Roger on this one. By the way, I'm at work.
__________________
Elaine "Lady Blue" Metro Atlanta ASA (retired) Georgia High School NFHS (retired) Mom of former Travel Player National Indicator Fraternity 1995 |
|
|||
Re: Re: Chuck
Quote:
at work. I agree with Mike and Rog on their indepth presentations of this situation. Joel, which school does daughter attend and who is this arch rivalry? Isn't she just a freshman?? glen
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
"(bare with me a minute,Mike)"
Roger, please BEAR with me. May I have enough time to get my camera and take a photo of this? But don't do it in front of the girls. Bob [Edited by bluezebra on Mar 13th, 2002 at 08:13 PM] |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Thanks for all the comments, guys.
To all who commented on the stupid (etc.) runner, yes, it was a very contrived play, whose only point was to discuss the legal status of F2. My call, I am sure, prior to the comment on McGriffs that got me thinking about this, would have been interference (F2 making a slo-mo play, but still a play). I think that would still be my call unless it was clear that F2 had stopped making a play and was just standing in the base path. |
Bookmarks |
|
|