The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 155
I wonder if F4 or F6 tried to fake her out by telling her that it was a foul ball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 164
You said the ball was returned to F1 but didn't say when she actually took the ball into the circle in relation to the runner's retreat. I say this because often, F1 comes forward of the circle to take the return throw from F2 and the runner is not bound by LBR rule until F1 is back in the circle (both feet).

If the runner was stopped at 2B when F1 had ball in circle an then retreated she's out. If the runner started her retreat (even if she had stopped at 2B), before F1 returned to the circle, she's legal.

BU should watch runners until the ball is back into the circle, then PU should be watching the runners as you return to your position.

Sounds like your runner may have stole 2B and 1B on the same pitch.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTQ_Blue

Sounds like your runner may have stole 2B and 1B on the same pitch.
Yep, she stole 2 bases
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Yep, she stole 2 bases
Sounds like she's just trying to show off to me!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
I wish I thought quicker, I would have asked the coach if she gets credit for stealing 2 bases.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
If she did touch 2b, and there was no foul ball, does this not fall into the realm of "making a travesty of the game" by stealing 1B?
It would be the first time I've seen this rule applied.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka
..."making a travesty of the game"....
What do you think of when you think "travesty" and what would a player be doing?

Running the bases in reverse is NOT illegal, and is done all the time... in a rundown, returning to touch a base left too soon or a base missed, returning because the base needs to be available for the runner ahead who is returning for some reason, etc.

What I visualize a player is doing when "making a travesty of the game" is some kind of mocking behavior or other behavior not related to playing the game.


Rule 8-3-D says
Quote:
D. A runner shall not run bases in reverse order to confuse the fielders nor to make a travesty of the game.
EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out.
It is not the running of the bases in reverse that is illegal, it is the REASON the bases are run in reverse that is illegal.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
I didnt eject and I should have wadeintothem Softball 14 Fri May 13, 2005 09:02am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1