![]() |
|
|
|||
LL LBR is the same as the ASA LBR accept for one difference. On a walk , the runner's are bound by the LBR BEFORE the runner reaches first, as soon as the pitcher receives the ball in the circle. If they're on the move though, forward or back, they still get a stop...Problem is finding, or teaching a District to call it correctly. If they don't have access to the Umpires School Rule Manual, they'll go by the book and the book rule isn't even close to the proper application... so here's the clarification from the Umpires School Rule Manual.
(SOFTBALL) the runner fails to keep contact with the base to which that runner is entitled until the ball has been batted or reaches the batter [JUNIOR/SENIOR/BIG LEAGUE SOFTBALL: until the ball has been released by the pitcher.] When a runner is off a base after a pitch or as a result of a batter completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the eight (8) foot radius circle, the runner must immediately attempt to advance to the next base or return to the base the runner is entitled. Note: If the pitcher has possession of the ball within the pitcher’s circle, and is not making a play (a fake throw is considered a play for the interpretation of this rule only), runners not in contact with their bases must immediately attempt to advance or return to base. PENALTY: The ball is dead, “No Pitch” is declared, and the runner is out. Eight (8) foot radius circle must be properly marked. APPROVED RULING: (Junior/Senior/Big League Baseball/Softball): When a batter becomes a runner on a third strike that is not caught, and starts for the bench or his/her position, that batter may advance to first base at any time before entering the bench. To put the batter out, the defense must tag the batter or first base before the batter touches first base. INSTRUCTOR COMMENTS: If the runner(s) is off a base when the pitcher has the ball within the eight-foot circle, the runner(s) may continue around the bases. Having the ball within the circle does NOT stop the runner(s). If the pitcher has the ball within the eight-foot circle and the runner stops while off a base, the runner must IMMEDIATELY either advance OR return. The runner has a choice. When this choice is made, if the runner stops again before reaching the base, she shall be called out. If the runner is on the base when the ball is returned to the pitcher within the eight-foot circle, the runner may not leave the base or will be called out. The responsibility for the runners to advance or return is removed if the pitcher attempts a play on a runner. In Softball, a fake throw by the pitcher, from the eight-foot circle, IS considered an attempted play for the interpretation of the circle |
|
|||
ASA rules, and I fully understand that this might be a dumb question, but say the runner rounds 1B stops and then makes the choice to advance to 2B, the pitcher makes a play on her and throws to second (since all the games I'm calling right now have a cold home plate, a runner on third wouldn't stop a play at 2B). Since the runner can't return to 1st base in this situation would she automatically be out if she got caught up in a "pickle"?
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Little League Slide Rule | njdevs00cup | Baseball | 30 | Wed Jun 27, 2007 11:02am |
New rule tried in Arizona Fall League | gordon30307 | Baseball | 18 | Sun Apr 30, 2006 01:49am |
NFHS league rule modifications? | AZlaxref | General / Off-Topic | 0 | Thu Nov 04, 2004 04:04pm |
American League Rule Book | WindyCityBlue | Baseball | 60 | Tue Oct 05, 2004 09:11am |
Hit-By-Pitch Rule Little League (9-10) | wwadja | Baseball | 32 | Sat Jun 12, 2004 09:52am |