![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Edited for FFS Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sun Mar 23, 2008 at 08:44pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
During the great rule book purge of '06. Mike voted no, but still keeps a hold of his pooportutnity and wont let go. ![]()
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Thank you for the correction. I see the distinction.
ASA Now, could you provide interpretation and guidance on 8-8F (does touch mean same as deflected, ricochet etc) and RS 33-A-b)2nd sentence (is it missing the word intentional?). My understanding from training is no out if runner hit by deflected ball, could not avoid it and another player had opportunity to make a play. What I am looking for is what are the different possibilities and rulings for a deflected ball? Bretman had stated that "If a runner is hit by a batted ball randomly deflected by one fielder and another fielder has opportunity to make a play, the runner is called out." That is why I cited "To Interfere with a deflected batted ball it must be Intentional 8-7J-4". Has ASA put the wrong rule here? 8-8F indicates that if the runner could not avoid the ball, he/she is not out Thanks, Ron |
|
|||
checked my notes and this is what I wrote:
Deflected ball could not avoid ball/fielder=no interference fielder there and could avoid=interference intentional if could and does not (that is talking about how to interpret the word intentional) Do you guys agree with those instructions? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS Last edited by wadeintothem; Sun Mar 23, 2008 at 11:11pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Bretman now apologizes because when he re-read what he wrote, he immediately realized that he had goofed up! ![]() I must have been typing faster than I was thinking. I mixed together two different rules and it came out totally wrong. The two rules strung together were actually 8-7-J(4) and 8-8-F (the same two rules you're quoting in your posts, which while kind of similar, address two completely different things). Rule 8-7-J(4) tells us (as Mike already poined out) that on a batted ball deflected by a fielder, the runner is out if he interfers with any fielder that still has a play on the ball. 8-8-F says that a runner is not out if a batted ball deflects off a fielder and the ball accidentally strikes him. The first rule is the one I meant to quote, using it as an example of a runner maybe catching an unlucky break on a ball that takes an unexpected bounce. One rule involves interfering with a fielder, the other with the ball itself. In one the runner's intent is irrelevant, in the other we get to judge intent. But when you mish-mash the two rules together like I did you wind up with something that is just plain wrong. Sorry about that! Last edited by BretMan; Mon Mar 24, 2008 at 12:07am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Dropped third strike | LLPA13UmpDan | Baseball | 67 | Sun Jan 28, 2007 02:42am |
dropped 3rd strike | acoach | Baseball | 9 | Thu Jul 27, 2006 01:36pm |
Dropped Second Strike | blueskysblue | Softball | 36 | Wed Apr 12, 2006 06:08pm |
Dropped Third Strike | umpguy2190 | Baseball | 12 | Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:56pm |
Dropped 3rd Strike | rwest | Softball | 36 | Tue Apr 06, 2004 09:40am |