![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Hey Varefump, I don't see an out here since the BR is doing what she is suppose to be doing, which is starting her advance toward 1st base. Her foot probably would not have contacted the ball if she had a quicker start toward 1st, but once she realized the ball was dropped she started her advance. I don't think the Umpire made the correct call because both players where doing what they were suppose to be doing while they were in very close quarters to the plate and the ball. I think all we have here is ...no infraction, play on! ...Al |
|
|||
|
Guys...
Intent isn't required in this situation. Not in ASA and not in NFHS. If interference happens on a dropped third strike by the batter-runner, then you've got an out. Period. End of story. Go re-read that rule one more time.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
No wonder Mike tried to change this rule. But umpires are on the field to make calls according to the rules whether they think they are just, unjust, fair or unfair. I expect one day to have an upset coach telling me I made a bad call cause his player didn't do anything she wasn't suppose to be doing. Of couse, that's better than not making an inteference call and having a knowledgable coach protest. I suspect many of the fans and many coaches on the losing end of this goffy interference call won't go down without swinging (at the Ump). Thanks to all! ...Al
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Did the BR interfere with the play???? That is the question. I agree with you and mike though, it could be better written. For me, the bb way of writing this rule is just fine and saves umpires from making errors and calling outs when they shouldnt. ASA is trying to get outs that should be called.. as a fully foreseen (by many of the umps on this board) result they are getting outs that SHOULDNT be called.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
[Originally Posted by SRW
Guys... Intent isn't required in this situation. Not in ASA and not in NFHS. If interference happens on a dropped third strike by the batter-runner, then you've got an out. Period. End of story. Go re-read that rule one more time. Words have meaning. In 2007 NFHS added the word "Illegally" to the interference definition. There must be an illegal act committed in order for there to be interference. Running in a straight line to advance to the next base is not illegal. Getting hit by a deflected (muffed) ball is not illegal. Accidently coming in contact with a deflected (muffed) ball is not illegal. The step and a reach rule only protects the fielder from contact with the runner, it does not protect the ball. The runner has done nothing illegal therefore, there is no interference on this play. Remember the OP asked about NFHS rules not ASA. NKYFP FAN |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I read it completely different than you state, it is in fact different than you state, and case plays, such as 8.2.6.d, 8.6.10d plus many more do not support your contention. Not only that, but your contention would expand the interference definition beyond it's use in any sport/association/rule set involving a bat and ball.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS Last edited by wadeintothem; Sat Mar 22, 2008 at 08:55pm. |
|
|||
|
I no longer do Fed, but in ASA, I judge INT with an uncaught third strike the same way I would judge INT with a thrown ball. It does not have to be intentional, but it does have to involve some sort of overt action. Just as a runner advancing to 3B is not automatically out for INT if the throw from the outfield hits her in the back, a BR is not out if an uncaught third strike bounces off the catcher and directly into a motionless BR. But a ball lying on the ground and unintentionally kicked by the BR is INT.
That doesn't mean I like the rule. I would like to see a loose uncaught third strike treated like a loose throw, as in OBR.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Hey Greymule, I understand, according to rule, unintentionally kicking a ball that's lying on the ground would be INT. But, is there any overt action by the BR if a ball blindly rolls into her as she is advancing to first? How could it be known that the ball was going to be deflected at her? I would think that would be similar to a BR being blindly hit in the back by a defenders thrown ball. It seems strange to judge some overt action by the BR when a ball rolls, bounces, etc. into her as she is just starting her advance to 1st. Thanks, ...Al Last edited by Al; Tue Mar 25, 2008 at 08:38pm. |
|
|||
|
Wadeintothem,
Please reread the OP. It is talking about a runner ACCIDENTLY making contact with a deflected (muffed) (missplayed) BALL. You have given two case plays and one sample play where a runner makes contact with a FIELDER. Fielder and ball are two very different things. Everyone knows contact with a fielder is illegal, but that is not what we are talking about. Please give us the rule # or the case play # in NFHS where it says " a runner is out when she ACCIDENTLY comes in contact with a deflected ball". When you can do that, I will change my mind. NKYFP FAN |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"ART. 1 . . .Interference is an act (physical or verbal) by a member of the team at bat who illegally impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder; …" It makes a difference where you place the word illegally in the definition. The way I see it, if the BR does not illegally impede, hinder or confuse the catcher, I've got nothing but a live ball. My 2 cents... dh
__________________
Silence can't be quoted! |
|
|||
|
Reffin Sgt,
You are correct! There are many examples of plays where a runner could impede or hinder a fielder but it would not be ruled interference. R1 on 1st base, gets a good jump on the pitch and heads into 2nd base for a steal attempt, she makes a good clean legal slide and knocks the feet out from under F6 who is waiting for the throw. (a) F6 has the ball but drops it on the impact, (b) F6 never catches the ball because of the impact. In either case F6 was hindered from catching the ball however, there is no interference because this was a legal slide. R1 on 2nd base, B2 hits line drive down 3rd base line and the ball rolls towrds DB area, R1 rounds 3rd and heads for home, F7 picks up ball and throws home, R1 is 3/4 way home when throw from F7 hits her in the back. F2 was impeded from catching the ball but, this is not interference because R1 did nothing illegal. R1 on 1st base, B2 hits ground ball to F4 who is playing 2-3 steps behind the base path of R1, the ball takes a bad hop and hits off F4's shin and bounces forward into the path of R1, accidental contact is made between R1 and the ball, F4 can not now make a play. R1 impeded F4 from completing the play but, she did nothing illegal and interference should not be called. The step and a reach rule protects the fielder from contact but it does not protect the ball. There are many other examples that could be given but, that's enough to prove the point that interference is only called on an illegal act. NKYFP FAN |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Interference? | sprivitor | Softball | 6 | Tue Aug 07, 2007 03:46pm |
| Interference? | canadaump6 | Baseball | 13 | Thu Jul 05, 2007 02:53am |
| Runner interference versus umpire interference | Jay R | Baseball | 1 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm |
| Interference | WinterWillie | Softball | 6 | Tue Aug 03, 2004 12:13pm |
| interference? | refjef40 | Softball | 4 | Sun May 04, 2003 01:14pm |