The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Live Free or Die Country
Posts: 175
Send a message via Yahoo to CelticNHBlue
Question 4th out situation

Situation:

R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, 2 outs and 2 strikes on the batter.

D3K, R1 scores, R2 attempts to score but is thrown out at the plate to end the inning. BR never advances to 1B but stays in live ball territory until action is over. Catcher now tags BR for 4th out in an attempt to negate run scored by R1.

What is your call?
__________________
Wade Ireland
Softball Umpire
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
ASA rules?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Can only call 4th out on a runner that scored and violated the rules: missed a base, or left early on a caught fly ball.

Deny 4th out appeal. R1 scores.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
Can only call 4th out on a runner that scored and violated the rules: missed a base, or left early on a caught fly ball.

Deny 4th out appeal. R1 scores.
That would be assuming ASA.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
That would be assuming ASA.
Correct
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern Ont.
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
Can only call 4th out on a runner that scored and violated the rules: missed a base, or left early on a caught fly ball.

Deny 4th out appeal. R1 scores.
Mark would the fact that the BR not advancing to 1st not be considered a rule violation and be considered an appeal play which then could be used as a 4th out
Just wondering here.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
BR didn't score. ASA Rule 5-5-B:
Quote:
No run shall be scored if a “fourth out” is the result of an appeal of a base missed or left to soon on a runner who has scored.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by canump
Mark would the fact that the BR not advancing to 1st not be considered a rule violation and be considered an appeal play which then could be used as a 4th out
Just wondering here.
No.

The 4th out appeal only is valid for runners who have scored.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
I see where you're going with this, but unfortunately for the defense, I've got 3 outs and R1 scored. She should have tagged BR and not R2. Once you've got 3 outs, you've got 3 outs, and your "fourth out appeal" can only be on a runner that scored. You can't "take away" an out.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Up until a couple of years ago, that exact same ASA case play had the run nullified on an advantageous fourth out. Not really an appeal, simply the BR before reaching 1B, but the principle is the same. ASA used to permit advantageous appeals after 3 outs on any runner, not just one who had scored.

However, for some reason unknown to me, they changed their rule.

I know of no other code that parallels ASA's in this regard.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern Ont.
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
No.

The 4th out appeal only is valid for runners who have scored.
But a run did score on this play.
I don't have my rule book here at work and its been awhile since I read it, but the CASA rule book has a rule which states something along the lines of " No run may score if the 3rd out is a result of the batter not advancing to and touching 1st and or any runner not advancing to or touching the bag that they were forced to advance to."
This is not an appeal play as per say but an actual ruling in our rule book even though I might have miss worded what is actualy written. As the opening post said there were 2 out at the time.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by canump
But a run did score on this play.
No run may score if the 3rd out is a result of the batter not advancing to and touching 1st and or any runner not advancing to or touching the bag that they were forced to advance to
If the 3rd out was the BR, then, you would be correct. But, the 3rd out was
R2 by being tagged. The appeal on the BR would be a 4th out, which isn't recognized by ASA unless it is for a runner that has scored and THAT runner is the one who committed the violation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CELTICNHBLUE
Situation:

R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, 2 outs and 2 strikes on the batter.

D3K, R1 scores, R2 attempts to score but is thrown out at the plate to end the inning. BR never advances to 1B but stays in live ball territory until action is over. Catcher now tags BR for 4th out in an attempt to negate run scored by R1.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C.E. Situation ?? garote Basketball 21 Fri Oct 13, 2006 05:24pm
SEC Situation olddoc08 Basketball 15 Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:05am
is this a 1 &1 situation fmkjrunc Basketball 6 Wed Aug 02, 2006 05:37pm
Just a Situation jrfath Football 5 Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:17am
DQ Situation Ron Basketball 4 Tue Nov 05, 2002 07:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1