![]() |
|
|
|||
Ur Call
This was sent in by a fan.
for all you "wanna-be" umps out there....YOU MAKE THE CALL! Coach makes official substitution with plate umpire. However-girl she subs for is already on base. The "substitute" goes to box...takes called ball 1. Opposing team goes to umpire...asks what the substitution was...umpire pulls out his sheet...says #? for #?....coach tells umpire...that cant be...because the girl being subbed for is "on base". Her sub just took called ball 1. ? - is runner out...or is batter out? or is anybody out? batting out of order? something/anything wrong here? u make the call!
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. Last edited by whiskers_ump; Tue Mar 04, 2008 at 05:22pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
|
|||
Daughter, so this is FED....Not my Daughter.
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
Quote:
done one of her games and that was in tournament play and due to the start time of our game, could not be replaced. Informed both coaches that my GD played on one of the teams. Neither had a problem. I did have to call and inforce obstruction in her favor when the second base person impeded her progress to 3rd and knowing her speed, I knew she would have easily obtained 3B.
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. Last edited by whiskers_ump; Tue Mar 04, 2008 at 09:13pm. Reason: correct sentencing |
|
|||
Quote:
Then, "substitute goes to box", essentially batting in the #7 slot. The sub belongs in the #6 slot, so she is BOO. She has taken a pitch, which allows the appeal, but she is just replaced by the proper batter who assumes the 1-0 count. Also, the sub replace the starter on the bases. Now, is there also a problem with the starter staying on base during that one pitch, essentially being an unreported sub for the real sub?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. Last edited by CecilOne; Tue Mar 04, 2008 at 07:25pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
pretty good records, and do try and prevent these situtations. Using dots and dashes. I always know who batted last in an inning and who is due up.
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
Why would we say that the batter is BOO?
Can we not say that the *actual* substitution was *not* for the runner on base, but the player after that runner. After all, that's what physically happened, correct? If so, then this is merely an unreported substitute, and if discovered and appealed while the unreported sub is at bat, then no one is out, but the batter is declared ineligible, and is replaced by a legal player. (Rule 4, Sec.8g, ISF). The bottom line here is what is the substitution? What the manager SAYS, or what the MANAGER does? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
When the obvious call isn't the right call | Don Mueller | Baseball | 28 | Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |