The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Hey, Sam,

Yeah, I figured our posts had "crossed in the ether" -- I just wanted to poke a little fun...

Anyhow, speaking of persuasive argument, in the meantime I have been checking out the case book.

How about Case Play 8.6-12.

For those without an ASA Case Book - shame on you if you call ASA, but anyhow I'll quote the case play...

PLAY 8.6-12
R1 on 2B. B2 gets a base hit. R1 after rounding 3B is obstructed by F1. At the time of the obstruction, in the umpire's judgment, R1 could not have made home. The throw was already back in the infield. R1 is returned to 3B. F2 cuts the throw and retires B2 at 2B. R1 breaks for home and is tagged at the plate on the return throw.

RULING: At the time of the obstruction, R1 could not have made home. The ball remains live. The out at 2B stands. With the tag of R1 at home, the ball becomes dead. Return R1 to 3B. (8-6B)


R1 returned to 3B after the obstruction and only tried to run home after F2 throws to 2B. The ASA ruling is that even though 3B was the base R1 was protected to, and even though R1 returned to 3B and only tried for home after another play was made by the defense, R1 still cannot be put out between 3B and home.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1