The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
Cool Well umps are blind, you know.

Sorry Dakota,

I guess I missed your post. Actually my excuse is that I was already reading the thread and posted my response before I saw yours.

I understand what you're are saying about calling the runner out between 1st and 2nd, but once she returns to 1st and then takes off again hasn't she now "passed the base she would have reached if there had been no obstruction"?.

I would agree with you if the runner continued on to second after the obstruction, but once she returns to her "protected to" base, I think that the effects of the obstruction have been nullified and once she leaves 1st again, she is now running at her own peril per rule 8.6.B(2).

That's my interpretation anyway. Subject to change via persuasive argument.

SamC
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1