The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Speaking ASA

Don and Dak are correct. There are no questions, what ifs , buts or debate about it. As Dakota pointed out, ASA is very specific on this point.

As the umpire, you do not have the authority to ignore the rule and lose the protest. It is not a judgment call. If the umpire throws out that left arm, s/he cannot call the runner out between 1B & 2B unless the runner committed and act of interference. That would be a misinterpretation of the rules.

Y'all may not like it, but you are getting paid to work the game within the parameter of the rules setforth prior to the contest.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1