The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Did the umpire acknowledge the passed runner and then let the runs count, or did the umpire not see (or not acknowledge he saw) the passed runner? Did the base umpire refuse to check with his partner?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I agree with those stating that this is a call that must be made on the spot, not as an appeal or protest later. If it happened, it's called when it happens. If it's not called, it didn't happen.

And if it did happen, whatever runners had crossed home (max of 2) at the time of the passing score.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Okay, I improperly assumed you would get the point that if there was a protest, there had to be a reason. So, for the sake of this scenario, the umpires saw R6 pass R5 and ignored it.

Same questions.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Okay, I improperly assumed you would get the point that if there was a protest, there had to be a reason. So, for the sake of this scenario, the umpires saw R6 pass R5 and ignored it.

Same questions.
Before answering ... just a quick note. I don't think YOU would have made such an assumption if someone else posted exactly what you posted. Would you have?

Anyway ... if the umpire saw it, acknowledged it, and failed to apply the correct rule, and I was on the protest committee, my first question would be - did anyone note the position of R1 and R2 at the moment of the passing? I'm assuming both scored ... but it's an important thing to ask.

After that, my answer is the same as above. 2 runs score.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
The monkey wrench thrown into any ruling might be the "EFFECT" that follows Rules 8-7 A through E.

It says (in part) that when one of the infractions in sections A-E occur, "The ball is live and the runner is out".

Well, no, not on a ball that has cleared the fence it isn't. The Rules Supplement for passing a runner (#39) also states that on this violation the ball remains live.

How can it remain live if it is dead when it cleared the fence? Is the inferrence that passing a preceeding runner is a live ball violation, much the same as assisting a runner is a live ball violation?

Beats me, but I suspect that is the glitch that Mike is drawing our attention to.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
I would suspect Mike wants someone to say we can ignore the passing because the ball is dead. However, that isn't so. A home run is a 4 base award; and all awarded bases require runners to follow standard baserunning requirements. Upon observation, the umpire must rule the "passing a runner" out, it is a timing play; when the infraction occured.

The key to this, and any other protest, is the wording used by the umpire in describing the (non)ruling. If he tells the UIC he saw it and chose not to rule because the ball was dead, this is a misapplied rule. If he claims he didn't see it, it is not protestable that he didn't rule on what he didn't see. If he claims it didn't actually happen (as Glen notes, didn't fully pass, for example), it is not protestable, as judgment.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF

Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Tue Sep 11, 2007 at 01:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
I would suspect Mike wants someone to say we can ignore the passing because the ball is dead. However, that isn't so. A home run is a 4 base award; and all awarded bases require runners to follow standard baserunning requirements. Upon observation, the umpire must rule the "passing a runner" out, it is a timing play; when the infraction occured.

The key to this, and any other protest, is the wording used by the umpire in describing the (non)ruling. If he tells the UIC he saw it and chose not to rule because the ball was dead, this is a misapplied rule. If he claims he didn't see it, it is not protestable.
Totally agree. As you stated.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Okay, Steve has hit the nail on the head. The EFFECT simply states that when this called is applied the ball remains live. There is nothing requiring this to be a "live" ball for the rule to apply.

Until this year, the POE for Passing A Runner began with the comment: Passing a runner occurs during a live ball. This comment is NOT included in RS #39 this year.

However, I bet if you ask a member of the NUS, you will be told that this rule only applies during a live ball period. Now, here comes the "what if".

On a legitimate over-the-fence home run, when does the ball become dead? If the BR flies pass R5 standing on 1B on his way to 2B, is the BR out for passing while the ball is still technically live? And no, I'm not going to continue this scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Okay, Steve has hit the nail on the head. The EFFECT simply states that when this called is applied the ball remains live. There is nothing requiring this to be a "live" ball for the rule to apply.

Until this year, the POE for Passing A Runner began with the comment: Passing a runner occurs during a live ball. This comment is NOT included in RS #39 this year.

However, I bet if you ask a member of the NUS, you will be told that this rule only applies during a live ball period. ...
So, if I'm reading you correctly, the proper answer from the UIC depends on whether or not he is a member of the NUS?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Response of my request for clarification:

Quote:
This year it was not the lead sentence as it was in the past. However, the action must take place during a live ball and is so stated on page 151/152 when it says..."The rail runner, the runner doing the passing, is called and the ball remains live. The concept is exactly the same, said in a different way.


My reply

Quote:
Thanks for the quick response.

I have no problem with the rule or your reply. I just think you are asking umpires to make a presumption that isn't "clearly" stated. Seems to me that the RS is an ideal place to cap those assumptions without making a rule "wordy".

Thanks,

See you in Louisville.

IMike,


Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
That doesn't make any sense...

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Response of my request for clarification:
Quote:
This year it was not the lead sentence as it was in the past. However, the action must take place during a live ball and is so stated on page 151/152 when it says..."The rail runner, the runner doing the passing, is called and the ball remains live. The concept is exactly the same, said in a different way.
Why would the rules for running the bases be any different after an over-the-fence home run than on any other play. If they miss a base, they can still be called out on appeal. Passing the runner should not be any different (other than not requiring an appeal).

Also, I should not have to look at the EFFECT or rules supplement to find that this must occur during a live ball. If that is the case, why not spell it out clearly.

If ASA is going to change the rules for running the bases after a home run, why even make them run the bases. Just go the dugout and count the runs.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
When RS #39 says the ball remains live, that actually applies to the particular live ball example given, but the EFFECT for 8-7-A to E does say, "The ball is live."

However, since a runner who passes another runner during a dead ball is out, the EFFECT should probably say something like, "If the infraction occurs during a live ball, the ball remains live."
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Okay, I improperly assumed you would get the point that if there was a protest, there had to be a reason. So, for the sake of this scenario, the umpires saw R6 pass R5 and ignored it.

Same questions.
By saying he, the umpire, saw R6 pass R5, and ignored it, then maybe, perhaps, R6 did not entirely pass R5. [entire body did not pass]. This
being the case, the the protest was not upheld and all runs would
score.

Beer on protesting teams protest fee.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Passing another runner. JRutledge Baseball 3 Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:40pm
Passing a runner alwaysask Softball 9 Fri May 09, 2003 09:59pm
Passing runner greymule Softball 4 Thu Oct 03, 2002 08:45pm
Passing runner greymule Baseball 6 Tue Sep 24, 2002 01:59pm
passing a runner greymule Softball 6 Sat Feb 23, 2002 10:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1