The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
I remembered one more.....


Runner on first and third (I still need to get the nuances of SB down with the R3, R2, etc) with an obvious bunt coming. F5 is playing way in, so in that she covered home on a passed ball. BU calls time and tells F5 she cant play that close. I have no idea what rule he was quoting or what. When I asked him after the game all he said was that he felt it was unsafe for her to play that close. Now, it might have been but I don't think that is his call.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 06:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Caliente
I remembered one more.....


Runner on first and third (I still need to get the nuances of SB down with the R3, R2, etc) with an obvious bunt coming. F5 is playing way in, so in that she covered home on a passed ball. BU calls time and tells F5 she cant play that close. I have no idea what rule he was quoting or what. When I asked him after the game all he said was that he felt it was unsafe for her to play that close. Now, it might have been but I don't think that is his call.
Speaking ASA

The only rule an umpire could take action upon as it relates to the fielder's position (other than in fair territory) would be under 6fp.5.B, Defensive Positioning. However, the umpire would have to judge that the fielder was in the batter's line of vision or in an unsportsmanlike intent act in a manner to distract the batter. However, it isn't repositioning of a player, but an ejection.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

The only rule an umpire could take action upon as it relates to the fielder's position (other than in fair territory) would be under 6fp.5.B, Defensive Positioning. However, the umpire would have to judge that the fielder was in the batter's line of vision or in an unsportsmanlike intent act in a manner to distract the batter. However, it isn't repositioning of a player, but an ejection.
This was not the case for sure.


There were also quite a few double calls that game on pop flys and fly balls in that game.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
"Blue, did she miss home plate?"

That's a good enough appeal for me.
How is this good enough, coming during a live ball AND coming from the coach?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
How is this good enough, coming during a live ball AND coming from the coach?
For one, the ball wasn't live. And as we all know, dead ball appeals can come from any participant. But having gone back to read that and carefully re-reading that long post this time, the coach coming out when they did and saying what they did wouldn't be good enough for me. At that time, any appeal, proper or otherwise, live or dead, would have been moot.

But, in a normal dead ball situation where an appeal could be allowed, I still think that I would have accepted that.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
...And as we all know, dead ball appeals can come from any participant....
Not in ASA. Any infielder, but not any participant.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Not in ASA. Any infielder, but not any participant.
True enough. I stand corrected. Just another brain fart, I guess.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
For one, the ball wasn't live. And as we all know, dead ball appeals can come from any participant. But having gone back to read that and carefully re-reading that long post this time, the coach coming out when they did and saying what they did wouldn't be good enough for me. At that time, any appeal, proper or otherwise, live or dead, would have been moot.

But, in a normal dead ball situation where an appeal could be allowed, I still think that I would have accepted that.
"I signal a "weak" safe call, and DHC asks me "Blue, did she miss home plate?" " I'm trying to see why you think the ball was dead. Sounds like the coach's comment came immediately following the safe call. If the runner missed, surely she's still close enough in ANY level of ball to not kill the play that quickly.

And no ... the coach can't make the DBA. I guess we don't "all know" this, since it's false.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
"I signal a "weak" safe call, and DHC asks me "Blue, did she miss home plate?" " I'm trying to see why you think the ball was dead. Sounds like the coach's comment came immediately following the safe call. If the runner missed, surely she's still close enough in ANY level of ball to not kill the play that quickly.

And no ... the coach can't make the DBA. I guess we don't "all know" this, since it's false.
You know, I need to try to quit reading and replying to this at work with so many distractions. For some reason, on my "careful" re-read, I just caught the part where he said the coach came out between innings and thought that was when he asked the question.

There is my one to miss on this board for the year. Now back to work.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 226
what is a 'weak' safe call?? --puzzled--
__________________
It's sad when you're at a baseball game and realize that you'll never have the money, status or talent that the guys on the field take for granted. And it gets even worse when the grounds crew gives way to the players.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpLarryJohnson
what is a 'weak' safe call?? --puzzled--
Just a routine hands out to the side with no verbal call.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpLarryJohnson
what is a 'weak' safe call?? --puzzled--
I use a "weak" safe call when something like this happens. Basically, I do not verbalize safe and its kind of a half-hearted motion. In my opinion she had "attained" the plate. Her entire body (legs, feet, and all) had passed the plate before they was an attempt to put her out, actually there never was an attempt to put her out. I signaled safe and that point it was up to the defense to either tag her or appeal. I treated it the same way I would have if a runner had "attained" first base (entire body past the bag) before the throw arrived, but didn't tag the base. In that situation I would wait to make sure that the runner did not hit the base with their trailing foot, make a weak safe call, and then wait for a live ball appeal. If the runner comes back and retouches first before the live ball appeal then there can be no appeal.

If my mechanics in this situation are wrong I am open to suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 03:54pm
Al Al is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Send a message via Yahoo to Al
[QUOTE=Julio Caliente]I use a "weak" safe call when something like this happens. Basically, I do not verbalize safe and its kind of a half-hearted motion. In my opinion she had "attained" the plate. Her entire body (legs, feet, and all) had passed the plate before they was an attempt to put her out, actually there never was an attempt to put her out. I signaled safe and that point it was up to the defense to either tag her or appeal. I treated it the same way I would have if a runner had "attained" first base (entire body past the bag) before the throw arrived, but didn't tag the base. In that situation I would wait to make sure that the runner did not hit the base with their trailing foot, make a weak safe call, and then wait for a live ball appeal. If the runner comes back and retouches first before the live ball appeal then there can be no appeal.

In all my little-league, major, pony, high school playing in the catchers position I do not remember an umpire calling someone safe who didn't touch the plate, even if the runner clearly beat an attempted tag. I remember umpires making no call and that usually alerted the coaches, or the catchers to try to tag the runner out before he does touch the plate. In those more rare times when a runner misses the 1st base bag but clearly beats the throw a safe call would be made and if no live ball appeal comes before the runner retouches there remains no more appeal available. Is a missed plate in softball treated the same as a runner that misses 1st base? Are we to call the runner safe when she missed the plate just because no tag was attempted? I ask for more comments and direction from the board to help clear up my understanding. I have two years under my belt umpiring and three years coaching but the more I think I know the more I realize I have a whole lot to learn. .. Al
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
[quote=Al]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Caliente
I use a "weak" safe call when something like this happens. Basically, I do not verbalize safe and its kind of a half-hearted motion. In my opinion she had "attained" the plate. Her entire body (legs, feet, and all) had passed the plate before they was an attempt to put her out, actually there never was an attempt to put her out. I signaled safe and that point it was up to the defense to either tag her or appeal. I treated it the same way I would have if a runner had "attained" first base (entire body past the bag) before the throw arrived, but didn't tag the base. In that situation I would wait to make sure that the runner did not hit the base with their trailing foot, make a weak safe call, and then wait for a live ball appeal. If the runner comes back and retouches first before the live ball appeal then there can be no appeal.
I don't understand why this call would be any different than the 50 other calls at 1st base?
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Al,

The instruction given for most in the baseball world tells the umpire that when a runner misses the plate NO signal is given.

ASA umpire mechanics are different on this point. The manual says to wait a second for the players to react, then give a safe signal.

Why the baseball and softball world are divergent on this point, I don't know. But it's just another one of those little things to keep seperate for guys that work both sports.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worked at the PFX tour this weekend - Part II: The Good Julio Caliente Softball 14 Thu Sep 06, 2007 02:36pm
Worked at the PFX tour this weekend - Part I: The Bad Julio Caliente Softball 9 Wed Sep 05, 2007 04:08pm
manchester united tour asia xeno Soccer 0 Tue Jul 19, 2005 02:01am
Tour de France reffish Basketball 16 Fri Jul 08, 2005 07:29am
Ugly, Ugly Game rockyroad Basketball 9 Thu Feb 20, 2003 02:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1