![]() |
|
|
|||
I agree, we need more information, beginning with, where was the BR when the defense started the "appeal" about the BR never reaching first base? If she entered the dugout or other dead ball territory, then we have an out and the run doesn't score. If she was still near first base, then the defensive unit made a big mistake. They should have kept quiet until one of the runners entered the dugout.
I am not sure what the PU and the BU talked about, but there must have been atleast 1 defensive player that left the field. In interpreting "left the field" I would have to have a player abandon their usual fielding position and enter foul territy; I would have to have F2 enter the dugout or dead ball territory. But what about the contact with the 1B coach? Could that be ruled interference? I thought I saw this type of play on a blooper reel from MLB back 20 years ago. I think I remember the result was BR out, no run scored. 16U??, bad coaching even at 12U!!!!
__________________
Scott C. NFHS USSSA |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
The BR was about half way to 1st when she and the 1st base coach began jumping, hugging, celebrating, etc and she never went any further toward 1st. The runner on 3rd touched home plate. The BR and the remaining runners went into or over to their dugout. The offense began lining up to shake hands. The DC kept his players on the field, near 1st base, and then called out to the umpires that the runner had not reached 1st base and she should be out. The umpires discussed things and declared that the run counted because the defense had left the field, which they very clearly had not as they were all still standing on it. However, the BR and other runers had without question left the field.
It seemed to me that the run should not have counted not only because of the 1st base coach being on the field doing her dance with the BR but also because the BR never reached 1st base. Ed |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Mike,
Thanks for clearing things up. Sometimes you read a post and skip a fact that's starring you right in the face. I guess when the OP said "Offense entered the dugout" I never associated the BR as part of the "offense".
__________________
Scott C. NFHS USSSA |
|
|||
EJL -- Did you happen to see an umpiring crew with a problem walking around after this occured? I can only image that the UIC went off on these guys....(and rightfully so). Shouldn't have happened, especially at a national.
|
|
|||
I've always stated that in this type of situation, the umpires should intentionally move into a position to make a call and make it obvious to all that you are looking for something to happen. Many times you see umpires barely paying attention.
And, no, it is not coaching or tipping off one team or the other. I'm not suggesting the umpire motion to the players or coaches, just move to the prescribed position as if a call needed to be made since it is imperative that you have a clear look at the player touching the base. |
|
|||
Quote:
Getting back to my OP. What I'm getting is that once the BR went into DBT without having touched 1st base then she was out. Because she was the third out then the forced runner from 3rd base would not count. Does that sum it up correctly? Ed |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Duke/VT ending | Nevadaref | Basketball | 18 | Tue Dec 06, 2005 12:25am |
Happy ending | tomegun | Basketball | 13 | Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:40am |
ending the half on a B penalty..... | chris s | Football | 26 | Wed Oct 08, 2003 11:42am |
What an ending! | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 6 | Sat Mar 08, 2003 10:19pm |
What If There Was Another Ending in Cleveland? | BktBallRef | Football | 2 | Sun Dec 30, 2001 03:47pm |