![]() |
|
|
|||
FLEX batting
Need help on this one -- came up in our preseason meetings
Federation rules -- after the #9 batter completes her at bat, the FLEX comes up to bat and takes a pitch before detection. Is the FLEX now in the game as an illegal sub on offense for the #1 hitter, thereby necessitating RE-ENTRY if the #1 hitter is put in to cure the problem? |
|
|||
Quote:
Is the #1 hitter the DP? Remember, the FLEX can only bat for the DP.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
I had this happen on my DD's middle school team while I was scoring. The Flex saw her name in the #10 slot on the dugout lineup and didn't realize that she wasn't supposed to bat (I think once the coaches understand DP/Flex, that they out to spend at least 10 minutes explaining it to the players). Anyway, she was late getting out to the on-deck circle, so by the time I saw what she was doing and got the coach's attention in the 3B coaches box to tell her that her flex was batting, she was next to the plate and a pitch was on the way which was hit and the batter was out.
The other team's scorekeeper apparently didn't understand what had happened. My understanding that the batter would be out as soon as detected after taking a pitch but before her turn at bat is resolved. What would happen if she hits fairly and gets on base I'm still muddy on. And/or any additional penalties on the batter or coach (ejection?)
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Clarification of above
To clarify my initial scenario -- the #1 hitter is not the DP -- that would be too easy
My main question is -- since we have an offensive sub for the #1 hitter, albeit an illegal one, does the #1 hitter have to burn her re-entry if she comes back in the game? Seems most folks are saying yes |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
The restriction is occasionally overlooked because it is listed separately for all subsections of Article 2; but an illegal sub remains illegal whenever she is discovered, and must always be restricted and replaced with a legal sub.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Steve, I referred to my earlier post where I stated she was restricted.
Also, I disagree that both BOO and illegal sub occurred, since they are mutually exclusive in the situation of the FLEX batting for a non-DP. It is not considered a sub for the DP, but batting out of order. It is considered an illegal sub for the #1 batter, batting in the correct order.
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Tue Aug 07, 2007 at 11:38am. |
|
|||
Quote:
If the #1 batter is the DP, this is an unreported substitute, and a team warning will be issued, with the next offending player being restricted to the bench (NFHS 3-6-7 PENALTY).
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Tue Aug 07, 2007 at 08:55am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
FED: Batting helmets in batting cage | CLBuffalo | Softball | 2 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:23am |
Reporting Flex for DP and DP for Flex | shipwreck | Softball | 5 | Tue Sep 07, 2004 02:44pm |
FLEX AND DP | mg43 | Softball | 7 | Thu Jul 08, 2004 02:50pm |
DP/FLEX | db | Softball | 11 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 01:46pm |
FLEX Batting - NFHS | WestMichBlue | Softball | 21 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 12:33pm |