|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				This Just In, ASA 8.7.K
			 
			
			In an earlier thread, it was mentioned that an umpire failed to call a runner out for being hit with a batted ball in front of a left fielder and the umpire stated "outfielders don't count".  Well, as the rule reads in this year's ASA book, the umpire was correct, but I felt there was something wrong there. A deputy supervisor has confirmed that there was an error in the housekeeping change of this rule. It should read something similar to this: K. When a runner is struck with a fair untouched batted ball while not in contact with a base and before it passes an infielder, excluding the pitcher, or if it passes an infielder and another fielder has an opportunity to make an out. 
				__________________ The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |