![]() |
This Just In, ASA 8.7.K
In an earlier thread, it was mentioned that an umpire failed to call a runner out for being hit with a batted ball in front of a left fielder and the umpire stated "outfielders don't count". Well, as the rule reads in this year's ASA book, the umpire was correct, but I felt there was something wrong there.
A deputy supervisor has confirmed that there was an error in the housekeeping change of this rule. It should read something similar to this: K. When a runner is struck with a fair untouched batted ball while not in contact with a base and before it passes an infielder, excluding the pitcher, or if it passes an infielder and another fielder has an opportunity to make an out. |
Hmm.. dont we need 22 committee meetings, 3 dinners at red lobster, and four voting sessions to get this done? ;)
|
So until it's written in the 2008 rule book (or posted somewhere on ASA's site), what should we rule if an outfielder had an opportunity to make the play?
|
Quote:
Just don't go on the field and declare it so and say, "I saw it on the web". |
While the clarification makes perfect sense as to how the rule really should be, I'd find it hard to call it that way until ASA changes it in writing. There are some rules-savvy offensive coaches out there (and some that are just plain offensive), and if I were to make this call, I'd think that they'd have ripe fields for protest.
However, I appreciate Mike's follow-up on this information, and I hope that ASA puts this in writing for all to see as soon as possible. |
Quote:
This is why there is a structured chain for passing along information from OKC to Supervisor of Umpires to the four Deputy Supervisors to the fifteen Regional UICs to the State/Metro UICs to the local UIC/Rules Interpreter/Trainer (or whatever tag your association attaches to the individual(s) involved in the training and interpretation of rules) to pass it on to the local umpires. While the ASA web site is there for everyone to see, you know as well as I that every umpire doesn't occasionally check it out for changes. If I were you, I would check with your local UIC and get his opinion on how the rule should be called. Don't set him up, though. Explain that you believe the rule is not worded correctly and that you have heard it may be a misprint. Then you call it the way you are directed. |
So you are saying that, for example, in a co-ed slow pitch game with a light hitting batter and the outfield pulled way in, with runners at first and second, that a ground ball to the shortstop that is not touched while going through legs and hits a runner behind the shortstop , the runner should be called out because a nearby outfielder had a chance to make a force out?
Never , ever. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
BTW, did I forget to mention this ruling is basically supported as the counter effect of ASA 8.8.D? |
I have just been informed that this correction/clarification should be addressed on the umpire's web page under the July Clarifications.
|
maybe we should give all runners a little trampoline to bounce over the ball since they are now in jeopardy of being thrown out or called out due to a misplay by the defense.
Common sense takes another beating. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32pm. |