The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2007, 11:23am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Any comments about procedure on this play, not necessarily ASA?
Ball hit to outfield, R1 rounding 3rd is OBS by F5, called by PU. R1 continues to home, barely beaten by throw and tagged "out". PU judges the OBS made enough difference that R1 would have beaten the throw without it. PU calls dead ball, checks position of other runners; announces "runner safe on obstruction - at 3rd".
Yes. The ruling sounds fairly wrong to me.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2007, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Yes. The ruling sounds fairly wrong to me.
Other than the clarification I just posted for Dakota, why?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2007, 12:36pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Other than the clarification I just posted for Dakota, why?
Your clarification helps. I have no problem with the ruling on R1.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2007, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 143
I think we thought the runner was being put on 3rd because the dash seems to break up the obstruction and the base. If you left out the dash ("runner safe on obstruction at 3rd)" we might have gotten it quicker, though your sentence structure appears right. If you had meant the runner was being put safely at 3rd, you would have put together the "safe" part and the base part, something like, "runner safe on 3rd due to obstruction."
__________________
Matt
Not an official,
just a full-time dad,
part-time coach,
here to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2007, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Edited to stop confusing readers:

announces "runner safe at home -- obstructed at 3rd".

Now that I stopped confusing everyone with my description, back to my question:
"Any comments about procedure on this play, not necessarily ASA? "
That is, assume ruling correct and the language structure correct, what about the procedure/mechanic?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.

Last edited by CecilOne; Tue Jul 10, 2007 at 10:07am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction award? bigsig Softball 3 Tue Apr 24, 2007 09:54am
rule question - award newump Baseball 9 Wed Feb 07, 2007 07:27pm
What is your obstruction procedure? 5 sport ref Softball 1 Mon Jun 26, 2006 07:37pm
Obstruction -- always a base award ?? 18597 Softball 10 Wed May 08, 2002 10:07pm
obstruction - award a base? peter_s_n Baseball 12 Sun Jul 01, 2001 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1