The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
#2 does not provide enough specific information. A batter's foot can be in fair territory and the batter's box at the same time and, by rule, that makes a difference in the call.

From the OP: 2. Right-handed batter bunts. She has one foot in fair territory and the other still in the box when the ball bounces up and hits her in the chest in fair territory.

I thought the italicized part would indicate that the foot in fair territory was out of the box, but it is ambiguous. I envisioned the foot out of the box.

Both my plays are outs, which is what I figured they had to be, even though I have been giving too much "benefit of the doubt" to the batter in #2.

However, the batter can certainly contact a ball in fair territory and still have both feet in the box (see the bunt play above). And that's a foul ball.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two different plays harmbu Baseball 11 Wed May 02, 2007 12:54pm
3 Plays UmpJM Football 23 Tue Oct 03, 2006 08:24am
Does any one know who he plays for ? kade Rugby 0 Wed Jul 12, 2006 07:36pm
OOB Plays egausch Basketball 2 Tue Feb 19, 2002 10:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1