The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 10, 2007, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
There is no such caveat in the rule.



You might want to note at this point that I have yet to offer an opinion on out or foul. The rules clearly state that a batter which is hit by a batted ball still in the batter's box is called a strike, not an out. The position of the ball (over fair or foul territory) is not relevant.

That rule is a direct contradiction to your contention that "the batter's box offers no batter protection from being called out for touching a ball in fair territory".
You can spin my comments any way you want.

But the OP pertains to a batted ball hitting the ground. There is no "batter's box" protection in either of the examples in the OP if any part of the batter touches the ball while the ball is in fair territory.

CP 7.4-9 with R 7.4.H have no bearing on the situations in the OP.
RE: your comment:
You might want to note at this point that I have yet to offer an opinion on out or foul.

The OP asked for an answer on that question.

Are you going to give one?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two different plays harmbu Baseball 11 Wed May 02, 2007 12:54pm
3 Plays UmpJM Football 23 Tue Oct 03, 2006 08:24am
Does any one know who he plays for ? kade Rugby 0 Wed Jul 12, 2006 07:36pm
OOB Plays egausch Basketball 2 Tue Feb 19, 2002 10:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1