The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
In #1, OUT. The player contacted the ball.

In #2, OUT. Assuming that the ball contacts the batter-runner outside the box, the player has a responsibility not to get hit by the batted ball. If the ball & contact is within the box, I've got a FOUL.
Steve, what rule book are you going by? In ASA, this is not the case. Not sure what other rule books say...
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Steve, what rule book are you going by? In ASA, this is not the case. Not sure what other rule books say...
I think you'd better go back and re-read what happened, where it happened, and what the books say.
In play 1, the ball did not hit or contact the runner, the runner kicked the ball and the ball is out of the box.
For play 2, look at what I said earlier.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I should have specified ASA.

From the definition of foul ball: A batted ball that touches the batter or the bat in the batter's hand(s) a second time while the batter is in the batter's box.

8-2-F-4 Batter-runner is out when the batter-runner interferes with [sic] by making contact with a fair batted ball before reaching first base.

So I guess it hinges on how "in the batter's box" is defined.

I have been calling play #1 an out and play #2 a foul. It seemed to me that running into the ball in fair territory was an out, but "ball hits batter" while she still has a foot in the box was a foul. Now it may be that in some of these play #2 cases the ball was actually in the box while the BR's foot was out of the box, or it was close enough that a foul call was what everybody expected. But I have to admit to myself that I have been inconsistent, since in theory play 1 and play 2 are two versions of the same thing.

A strict reading of the book would indicate that in both cases, the BR is out. In play number 2, however, the benefit any doubt would go to the batter. This play is so common in FP; they bunt and then run into the ball, with the exact placement of their feet not quite clear. I guess play #2 is a default foul unless you're certain.

I certainly appreciate the input.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2007, 01:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
I should have specified ASA.

From the definition of foul ball: A batted ball that touches the batter or the bat in the batter's hand(s) a second time while the batter is in the batter's box.

8-2-F-4 Batter-runner is out when the batter-runner interferes with [sic] by making contact with a fair batted ball before reaching first base.

So I guess it hinges on how "in the batter's box" is defined.

I have been calling play #1 an out and play #2 a foul. It seemed to me that running into the ball in fair territory was an out, but "ball hits batter" while she still has a foot in the box was a foul. Now it may be that in some of these play #2 cases the ball was actually in the box while the BR's foot was out of the box, or it was close enough that a foul call was what everybody expected. But I have to admit to myself that I have been inconsistent, since in theory play 1 and play 2 are two versions of the same thing.

A strict reading of the book would indicate that in both cases, the BR is out. In play number 2, however, the benefit any doubt would go to the batter. This play is so common in FP; they bunt and then run into the ball, with the exact placement of their feet not quite clear. I guess play #2 is a default foul unless you're certain.

I certainly appreciate the input.
GREYMULE
A strict reading of the book would indicate that in both cases, the BR is out.

Strict? Rule One C and D leave no room for an interpretation.

The batter's box offers no batter protection from being called out for touching a ball in fair territory.

In play number 2, however, the benefit any doubt would go to the batter. This play is so common in FP; they bunt and then run into the ball, with the exact placement of their feet not quite clear. I guess play #2 is a default foul unless you're certain.

Either the ball is fair or foul. What benefit of doubt is there? The decision has nothing to do with the batter's feet,,,,,it has all to do with the position of the ball. If the only portion of the batter in fair territory was the tip of his cap and a fair ball hits it, the batter is out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2007, 07:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano

Either the ball is fair or foul. What benefit of doubt is there? The decision has nothing to do with the batter's feet,,,,,it has all to do with the position of the ball. If the only portion of the batter in fair territory was the tip of his cap and a fair ball hits it, the batter is out.
Maybe you should check out Page 222 of the Umpire's Manual.

Also, Caseplay 7.4-9 and Rule 7.4.H
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2007, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Maybe you should check out Page 222 of the Umpire's Manual.

Also, Caseplay 7.4-9 and Rule 7.4.H
A batter hit by a fair ball cannot be in the batter's box.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2007, 09:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
A batter hit by a fair ball cannot be in the batter's box.

True—because even if the ball is over fair territory when it contacts the batter, if the batter is in the box, it's a foul ball.

I've seen that one countless times.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2007, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
A batter hit by a fair ball cannot be in the batter's box.
What does that have to do with the citations? Nothing. And, CP 7.4-9 with R 7.4.H would contradict your contention that the feet have nothing to do with it.

Edited to withdraw statement.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sat Jun 09, 2007 at 10:15pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two different plays harmbu Baseball 11 Wed May 02, 2007 12:54pm
3 Plays UmpJM Football 23 Tue Oct 03, 2006 08:24am
Does any one know who he plays for ? kade Rugby 0 Wed Jul 12, 2006 07:36pm
OOB Plays egausch Basketball 2 Tue Feb 19, 2002 10:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1