The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
When to call time??

R1 on 1st, hit to right field, throws to first BU calls BR safe, throw from F3 to 3rd going after R1, as PU I am down there for the play and call R1 safe. She requests time to get up from slide, I start to call time and see out of the corner of my eye that R2 (BR at start of play) is heading into 2nd so I wait to call time till R2 is on second.

So question is what if I would have called time prior to R2 getting to 2nd? 3rd base was not thinking about throwing on R2 and didn't, was doing the hold tag until runner gets up thing.....but what would you do if you killed it too early? Let R2 continue to 2nd? Send her back to 1st? What say you all??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
You'd have to send her back, it was the last base she had legally touched.

Then admit to your mistake to the ticked off rats and let them know that everyone's human!

Or...do what my 5th graders would do...point to the runner at 3rd and blame her!
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED
R1 on 1st, hit to right field, throws to first BU calls BR safe, throw from F3 to 3rd going after R1, as PU I am down there for the play and call R1 safe. She requests time to get up from slide, I start to call time and see out of the corner of my eye that R2 (BR at start of play) is heading into 2nd so I wait to call time till R2 is on second.

So question is what if I would have called time prior to R2 getting to 2nd? 3rd base was not thinking about throwing on R2 and didn't, was doing the hold tag until runner gets up thing.....but what would you do if you killed it too early? Let R2 continue to 2nd? Send her back to 1st? What say you all??
Catching yourself is a good thing. If you did make the mistake, it would depend on where the runner was when you killed the ball. If more than halfway, 2B. If not, return to 1B.

You screwed up, you correct it.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 02:49pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Catching yourself is a good thing. If you did make the mistake, it would depend on where the runner was when you killed the ball. If more than halfway, 2B. If not, return to 1B.
Really ?!!?
Is that a rule, Mike, or a judgement?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
It's fixing your own screw up. Sure, if you want to be a stickler for the rules, then send them back to their previously touched base (and be ready for the offensive coach to rightfully ream you for jumping the gun). The fact remains that you screwed up by calling time when you weren't supposed to, and it can probably be fixed with little squawking by anyone.

Take that extra second to find the runners, make sure they're no longer attempting to advance, and then call time.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
Really ?!!?
Is that a rule, Mike, or a judgement?
Thanks.
At one time, it use to be part of the obstruction mechanics in the umpire manual. If it is still there, I cannot find it, but that doesn't mean anything.

With OBS, by rule, you kill the ball when an OBS runner is retired. What do you do with a runner two steps from the base to which they were advancing at that time? Send him back and you just offended an already offended team.

I don't see any problem in using this as a guidance in correcting an obvious error by an umpire.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
And as a preventive measure, say "wait" or "no" loudly to R1.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
At one time, it use to be part of the obstruction mechanics in the umpire manual. If it is still there, I cannot find it, but that doesn't mean anything.
The old "rule of thumb" for placing runners last appeared in the 2004 POE 35 Obstruction. It disappeared in 2005. It is history; reguiled to the ASA dustbin; it only exists now in our memories.

WMB
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2007, 12:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
The old "rule of thumb" for placing runners
Well, let's use the real "rule of thumb" and beat them with a stick no bigger around than our thumb if they ever do this again.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2007, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
The old "rule of thumb" for placing runners last appeared in the 2004 POE 35 Obstruction. It disappeared in 2005. It is history; reguiled to the ASA dustbin; it only exists now in our memories.

WMB
It may be the "old rule", but it is the only guidance we have and it seems fair enough to defend and sell on the field.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st time - I changed a call ranjo Basketball 8 Wed Mar 07, 2007 04:50pm
How can you call a time out in the air? mrkleen Basketball 16 Fri Feb 03, 2006 07:13pm
When to call time.? .youth SP mainly chuck chopper Softball 4 Tue Jun 01, 2004 04:58pm
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am
who can call a time out steve g Basketball 4 Fri Nov 19, 1999 05:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1