View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 03:04pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
Really ?!!?
Is that a rule, Mike, or a judgement?
Thanks.
At one time, it use to be part of the obstruction mechanics in the umpire manual. If it is still there, I cannot find it, but that doesn't mean anything.

With OBS, by rule, you kill the ball when an OBS runner is retired. What do you do with a runner two steps from the base to which they were advancing at that time? Send him back and you just offended an already offended team.

I don't see any problem in using this as a guidance in correcting an obvious error by an umpire.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote