The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2007, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
I undestand your thought process, but a BR can only be put out between home and 1B if the BR is trying to avoid being tagged out by the defense.

The retreat to the previous base (1B), as you describe, is allowed, and the rule mentioned above does not apply.

I learned it a few years ago when I had a game with R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B no outs. BR3 hit a grounder to F5 who scooped it up and started to run at R1 who was halfway between 2B and 3B. R1 started to retreat toward 2B, and I called R2 out for retreating, just like you also thought. I looked it up after the game and wrote about it here, and learned that I had it wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's your opinion? Illinois blue Softball 16 Sat May 28, 2005 06:34pm
opinion, please Carbide Keyman Baseball 6 Sat May 14, 2005 09:39pm
2 Q's for your opinion MACMAN Softball 9 Sat Jun 28, 2003 08:19am
Need your opinion JustADad Baseball 15 Wed Jun 11, 2003 12:11pm
I need your opinion Ref in PA Basketball 13 Tue Nov 19, 2002 09:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1