The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 05, 2007, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 186
Wouldn't it be true that since the runner did return to 1b, and ahead of the throw,that the only appeal would be missing 2nd on the return? I don't think B would be a yes since she returned to 1b safely.
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it."
ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 05, 2007, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Sorry about the confusing question, but I was looking for something like

a) one appeal could be recognzed - missing the base on the advance
b) two appeals could be recognized - missing on advance and retreat
c) one appeal could be recognized - missing on the retreat

(not saying those would be my answers)

There is a confusing discussion on the NFHS board about situation b), BTW, if anyone wants to check it out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2007, 06:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Sorry about the confusing question, but I was looking for something like

a) one appeal could be recognzed - missing the base on the advance
b) two appeals could be recognized - missing on advance and retreat
c) one appeal could be recognized - missing on the retreat

(not saying those would be my answers)

There is a confusing discussion on the NFHS board about situation b), BTW, if anyone wants to check it out.
That's because people are trying to "out think" the rules. It isn't that difficult when you walk through the scenarios offered.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2007, 06:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsig
Wouldn't it be true that since the runner did return to 1b, and ahead of the throw,that the only appeal would be missing 2nd on the return? I don't think B would be a yes since she returned to 1b safely.
My understanding is that if a runner passes a base and fails to touch it, they are considered to have touched it unless it is appealed. If the appeal is made, the runner is out.

I understand your logic but I think the rules don't agee.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HR, missed base Jay R Baseball 18 Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm
FED - Missed base PeteBooth Baseball 2 Tue Oct 01, 2002 03:33pm
Missed Base brandda Baseball 3 Tue May 21, 2002 09:43pm
Missed base Dakota Softball 13 Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am
Appeals missed base- tag/touch rex Baseball 3 Wed Aug 30, 2000 05:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1