![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree wrt the fence. I think it is POE 20 that clarifies that a collapsed fence is still in LBT. Wrt the interference, I mostly agree - it is left to umpire judgment whether to call interference, since the rule does say may and not must. My small disagreement is that judging intent is not the only thing that can result in an interference call. Stupid base running can also result in the interference call, IMO, since the rule does not require intent in drawing the throw. It says A runner continuing to run and drawing a throw may be ... It doesn't say "continuing to run to draw a throw" - just that the running did draw a throw. In the play described, the runner should have known she was out, but all of the fielders may not have known, and assuming the defense had a play on R1 going home, but instead went for the easier "out" on R3. I would call this interference. If you don't call the interference, then the home team wins - game over - since 2 runs scored (R1 and R2) - right? [Edited by Dakota on Nov 20th, 2001 at 11:37 AM] |
Bookmarks |
|
|