The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2001, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Idle thinking - "no games" is the devil's workshop

R1 on first. Batter hits ball into the gap & into the outfield - left center. R1 proceeds to 2nd and rounds to go to 3rd. F5 is thrown ball and R1 is in a rundown. BR meanwhile has rounded 1B and is half way to 2B. As R1 is returning to 2B, F6 physically grabs her. Umpire calls obstruction on F6 - delayed dead ball. BR is distracted by the obvious illegal act by F6 and stops off the base.

Now, if F5 throws to F4 to tag R1, then immediate dead ball & R1 is most likely awarded 2B and BR 1B.

But what if F5 throws to F3 to tag BR out instead? Is this just "dumb batter-runner"? Is there any sanction against the defense for F6's act?

ASA JO Fast Pitch.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1