The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
Runner runs over the catcher

10U Class A tournament ball - ASA. Close play at home, catcher has ball before runner arrives. Runner runs into the catcher knocking her to the ground. She did not lower a shoulder or in my judgment have malicious intent. If the ball comes out, what is the call?
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
DB out, but based on your description to strictly fit the definition and considering all variables.. im guessing you knew that.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
I think you have answered it yourself .
No malicious intent
No lowering of shoulder .
Play on .
There should be a slide but at this level ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
I think you have answered it yourself .
No malicious intent
No lowering of shoulder .
Play on .
There should be a slide but at this level ?

Its play on.. after the db - out and play resumes

The runners out if she stays up and makes contact with that catcher, especially if she ran the catcher over.. 10 or not.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
conflicting responses - can someone cite rule reference - to call the runner out do you have to eject her?
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
conflicting responses - can someone cite rule reference - to call the runner out do you have to eject her?
ASA 8.7 The Runner Is Out

Q. When the defensive player has the ball and the runner remains upright and crashes into the defensive player.
EFFECT. The ball is dead. The runner is out. All runners must return to the last base touched. If the act is determined to be flagrant, the offender shall be ejected.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
Thank you for the response. I was PU. The catcher held onto the ball and would have called her out either way - just wanted to be sure I had it right.
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
There is a distinction between three things in this situation:

1) contact (no call)
2) crash (interference)
3) flagrant crash (eject)

Your description sounds like non-flagrant crash.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
conflicting responses - can someone cite rule reference - to call the runner out do you have to eject her?
You're working an ASA tournament, and don't know the rules. SHAME!!!

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
Unhappy

there always has to be an accuser - yes, I had the rules right - I was PU and am a rookie since most umpires give no credence to my 10 years of coaching experience - I was working with a veteran umpire with no coaching experience - thankfully the ball stayed in the catcher's mitt and when I told my partner I would have called the runner out if it the ball had come out he stated no way I should call her out unless I eject her - of course I discussed in post game and with uic to be sure I had it right - and the veteran umpire may make a mistake or two but I still make more - just glad I had this one right and that this forum helps me learn as well
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 11:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
there always has to be an accuser - yes, I had the rules right - I was PU and am a rookie since most umpires give no credence to my 10 years of coaching experience - I was working with a veteran umpire with no coaching experience - thankfully the ball stayed in the catcher's mitt and when I told my partner I would have called the runner out if it the ball had come out he stated no way I should call her out unless I eject her - of course I discussed in post game and with uic to be sure I had it right - and the veteran umpire may make a mistake or two but I still make more - just glad I had this one right and that this forum helps me learn as well
Credence!! Hell thats a negative.. LOTSA unlearning to do

Anyway, welcome to umpiring and good luck.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over-Runs First...Attempts Second cmcramer Baseball 2 Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:53am
Runner coliding with Catcher While Fielding a Thrown Ball UmpJordan Baseball 14 Tue Sep 21, 2004 02:06pm
Runner Knocks Ball From Catcher James V Softball 25 Tue Jun 15, 2004 08:47pm
115 runs Duke Softball 9 Mon May 10, 2004 11:11am
Runner jumps over catcher klp3515 Baseball 6 Tue Jun 17, 2003 10:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1