![]() |
|
|||
|
Bit of a cut and Paste here.......
Dakota........these are my criteria.......
I did a little cut and paste on another board, where I responded to almost the same question......... The way I have learned to deal with this rule........(the wording has changed in the ASA book every year for the last 4)........ Is to allow the runner to round a base......find the ball and advance or retreat........Legal on all fronts........WALKS included........I give em' a one-one-thousand......then.......BANG. If the BR over-runs first.......they have 3 choices......... 1. They may round the base.......find the ball and advance or retreat....... 2. They over-run: stop, turn and start heading back to first........they are NOW committed to first!! If they break toward 2nd.......they are guilty of the lookback rule. 3. They over-run: stop, turn and start towards 2nd........they are NOW committed to 2nd!! If they decide........ahhh.....not a good idea, and try to go back to 1st.......they are guilty of the lookback rule. That's about as simple as I can make it...... I witnessed our State FED and Region (ASA UIC) give a demonstration of this on the field........once I saw it......it made sense...........grin This is a confusing rule...........I gave you my criteria.........and it is backed up by rule.........(and my Region interpretation)....... I do however, believe the older wording of the rule was simpler..........I think this is one of the few times that ASA added a bunch of verbiage that confused the rule instead of clarifying it........ Vintage 1999 was the best.....it says the same thing and is more pleasing to the palate..............grin. Joel [Edited by Gulf Coast Blue on Aug 21st, 2001 at 10:18 PM] |
| Bookmarks |
|
|