The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Well... the possibility of a double play is not irrelevant, because the possibility of the double play is the entire reason for the exception in the first place.
There's only one runner on base - the ball is foul - how could there be a double play? Even if you call both players out, I wouldn't classify that as a double play. I would have R1 out and batter back in the box.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
There's only one runner on base - the ball is foul - how could there be a double play? Even if you call both players out, I wouldn't classify that as a double play. I would have R1 out and batter back in the box.
I suppose you've never witnessed an out on a pop fly caught over foul territory. Amazing if you've never seen this. There could easily be a double play - caught fly, tag runner (who is near enough, considering they interfered!) or throw back third. Two outs.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I suppose you've never witnessed an out on a pop fly caught over foul territory. Amazing if you've never seen this. There could easily be a double play - caught fly, tag runner (who is near enough, considering they interfered!) or throw back third. Two outs.
I'm not stupid - I re-read the OP before I wrote that - it didn't say the runner was off on the pitch or anything so I'm guessing their position (as is everyone) because it just says they were off the bag. I am assuming they were watching the pop and wandered off the bag - if they could be doubled up from that position they shouldn't be playing softball - baseball maybe. LOL! So, no, I have NEVER seen a player stupid enough to get tagged on a pop foul ball by the 3rd base bag. I am sure in your vast experience you have - but not me.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 204
"B2 has 3-2 count and hits a pop up near the on deck circle."

How far was the on deck circle from 3B?

"R1 while off the base INT's with F5's play."

How far off the base?

I have seen small fields where the on deck circle is only a few feet away from the field and larger fields with lots of room to the on deck circle. If F5 would have caught the ball, was R1 far enough off the base to definitely get doubled off?
__________________
Travis
ASA Umpire
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
The runner and the batter are both out.

ASA 8.7.L.Note.Exception
ASA 2006 Case Play 8.8-43
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzme415
"B2 has 3-2 count and hits a pop up near the on deck circle."

How far was the on deck circle from 3B?

"R1 while off the base INT's with F5's play."

How far off the base?

I have seen small fields where the on deck circle is only a few feet away from the field and larger fields with lots of room to the on deck circle. If F5 would have caught the ball, was R1 far enough off the base to definitely get doubled off?
Doesn't really matter, since this is BY RULE a 2-out interference call. But if R1 was close enough to F5 to interfere with a catch, she was certainly closer to F5 than third base - and certainly an easy DP by tag, if not throw to 3B.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
I'm not stupid - I re-read the OP before I wrote that - it didn't say the runner was off on the pitch or anything so I'm guessing their position (as is everyone) because it just says they were off the bag. I am assuming they were watching the pop and wandered off the bag - if they could be doubled up from that position they shouldn't be playing softball - baseball maybe. LOL! So, no, I have NEVER seen a player stupid enough to get tagged on a pop foul ball by the 3rd base bag. I am sure in your vast experience you have - but not me.
I didn't call you stupid. Maybe you should re-reread the OP, though. Unless the on-deck circle was drawn in the coach's box (in my "vast experience", I've never seen that, have you?), then the runner, when she interfered, was more than just a couple of steps off the bag. This could be 15-20 feet (probably the closest I've ever seen the ODC to 3rd base) or it could be 40 or 50 feet. In both cases, easy catch and throw DP... but even if it was drawn 2 steps from third base, if the runner is close enough to interfere with the catch, the runner is CERTAINLY within range of a tag if the ball is allowed to be caught - again, easy DP.

BTW - the DP talk is not really even necessary for making this call, since 2 outs is SPECIFICALLY pointed out in this EXACT situation in the rulebook. But the possible DP does explain the reasoning for the rule, and keeps it consistent with other interference situations where a runner has broken up a potential DP.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I didn't call you stupid. Maybe you should re-reread the OP, though. Unless the on-deck circle was drawn in the coach's box (in my "vast experience", I've never seen that, have you?), then the runner, when she interfered, was more than just a couple of steps off the bag. This could be 15-20 feet (probably the closest I've ever seen the ODC to 3rd base) or it could be 40 or 50 feet. In both cases, easy catch and throw DP... but even if it was drawn 2 steps from third base, if the runner is close enough to interfere with the catch, the runner is CERTAINLY within range of a tag if the ball is allowed to be caught - again, easy DP.

BTW - the DP talk is not really even necessary for making this call, since 2 outs is SPECIFICALLY pointed out in this EXACT situation in the rulebook. But the possible DP does explain the reasoning for the rule, and keeps it consistent with other interference situations where a runner has broken up a potential DP.
No you didn't call me stupid - but it was insinuated by a smarta$$ comment (IMO). I understand the rule calls for both to be called out. (I'm curious about other rulesets though and I'm too lazy to look.)

My point about the runner being close enough to be tagged out was that if the pop is near the on-deck circle and that's a routine play there's no way the runner is going to be off the bag far enough to be thrown/tagged out. They would only be off that far if they are stupid (like me) or showing off (which would also be stupid).
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
OK, I did check in the NCAA rule book and in that ruleset, the runner is declared out and it's a foul ball on the batter. (9.13.5 for those scoring at home)

I know (or assume) that the question was for ASA but since I do NF and NCAA I was just curious to see if my call was correct in my rulesets.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 01:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 871
Don't get hung up on the location of the on-deck circle in the original post, it is really irrelevant since the fly ball was catchable with ordinary effort by F5.

We had a treat here yesterday in Johnson City, TN at ASA 14A Nationals. Henry Pollard and Dan Blair visited us in the umpire's room for a while. This was the perfect opportunity to get it straight from the horse's mouth.

According to Henry: Bottom line in this case, the rules were changed and they missed cleaning it out of the POE. The main body of the Rules are not superceded by the POE's and not by the Case Book. These are to clarify, but if there is a contradiction between the Rules and the POE or the Rules and the Case Book, YOU GO BY THE RULES!

So now we have our answer. R1 is OUT for INT, and B2 is OUT also.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
I know (or assume) that the question was for ASA ...
Especially since the OP said
Quote:
ASA Girls FP
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
... so I'm guessing their position (as is everyone) because it just says they were off the bag. I am assuming they were watching the pop and wandered off the bag - if they could be doubled up from that position they shouldn't be playing softball - baseball maybe. LOL! So, no, I have NEVER seen a player stupid enough to get tagged on a pop foul ball by the 3rd base bag. I am sure in your vast experience you have - but not me.
The OP said the pop fly was over near the on-deck circle. Now, with some field layouts, that could be anywhere from where the coach's box should be to just off the batter's box... but assuming somewhat of a reasonable field layout, this would be away from the baseline and well away from 3B, well into foul territory. The OP also said R1 interferedwith F5, who was otherwise able to make the catch with ordinary effort. I admit I assumed physical interference, which would place R1 well away from the base and right next to the fielder. Hence, a relatively easy DP after the catch.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Why do most of you assume R1 was close to where the catch would occur? F5 started in fair ground and had to cross the base line to get to the ball and so the R1 could be way beyond tagging distance from F5 at the ball, if F5 got there. The OP reads to me like R1 was in the way of F5 headed for the ball, nothing implied about R1 being near the ball.

Of course, none of that matters to the 2-out interpretation of the rule, which is what the OP asked and probably why the geography was not specified in the OP.
With 2 outs by rule, the rest of the parameters don't matter, except to understand the reasoning of the rule, as mcrowder said.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Why do most of you assume R1 was close to where the catch would occur?
I admit it is an assumption, but it is because of how the OP stated the situation. For "everyone in the park" to know that this was a can of corn catch led me to assume F5 was camped under the pop up and then was interfered with.

But, as has been said several times, it makes no difference. This situation is specific in the rules. 2 outs.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 06, 2006, 08:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Blown call??

Coach here.

This happened this week at PONY nationals, 16U.

Similar sitch, but this time ball is fair. No outs R1 on first, stealing with the pitch Infield pop in base line about 10 feet from second on right hand side. R1 runs into F4 and prevents catch. BU calls R1 out for interference and puts BR on first. I ask why wasn't defense awared 2 outs since it was going to be an easy 2 with R1 so far from first. BU says in his opinion there was no intentional interrference on the part of R1 so he only granted one out.

Prior to this thread, I did not know about Rule 8.7.L exception If the interference prevents the fielder from catching a routine fly ball (fair or foul) with oridnary effort, the batter is also out.

The rule seems crystal clear, there should have been 2 outs, was the BU just blowing smoke regarding intentional interference?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interp this play flsh224 Volleyball 4 Sat Oct 22, 2005 07:24am
New Interp wrong? Nevadaref Basketball 13 Wed Oct 13, 2004 01:49am
FED Interp, please? JJ Baseball 28 Fri Mar 23, 2001 01:58am
Interp of the Week #3 Jim Porter Baseball 10 Tue Mar 13, 2001 09:08pm
Fed Pitching Interp JJ Baseball 10 Tue Feb 13, 2001 12:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1