The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 08, 2001, 06:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Don,

If the runner stops on the white prior to the ball reaching the base, the runner is safe. Why? Because if the BR was there that early to be able to stop and be standing on the base prior to the ball reaching F3, then there really was no viable play, therefore allowing the BR to use either portion of the bag.

I believe you are overthinking this play. The present ruling is no different than the ruling used with a regular base.

As for your scenario at 2B, whether the runner who is 6" off the bag is safe or out could depend heavily on the umpire's angle to the play and the thickness of the base.

BTW, for those who haven't heard this before, my personal belief is that the double-base is nothing, but a sad excuse for players not being properly coached on the mechanics of playing 1st base.

But, if you work ASA ball, you better get use to them. It has already been announced that begining in 2002, all JO Championship Play games will require the use of the double-base. However, I have been told by a commissioner that it looks like this rule may be applied to ALL divisions and level of ASA Championship Play, not just JO or fastpitch.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1