The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 72
[QUOTE=tcblue13]1. If Charles is tagged out between 1st and 2nd. Do you still have the option of the appeal for missing the base?
2. If yes, Is that in all rulsets? (please cite FED rule # or #'s)

My FED book is 2004...There is an appendix at the back of the book titled "Appeal Procedures and Guidelines". Methods (Paragraph 2a). An appeal may be made during a live ball by the fielder in possession of the ball touching the base missed or left too soon on a caught fly ball, or by tagging the runner committing the violation if she is still on the playing field (even if she is standing on another base). (I added the emphasis).

In tagging Charles, defense successfully made the appeal for the 2nd out, removing any force at 2B. So, tagging Baker off second would be a timing play for the third out. Run had already scored per OP, so run would count.

I would be interested to know if the FED book updates still have this wording in the back of the book?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 17, 2006, 05:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
If Charles is tagged out between 1st and 2nd. Do you still have the option of the appeal for missing the base?

Every code I know of allows the option of a fourth or even a fifth out on appeal if such an out is advantageous to the defense, even if that runner had been put out on another play. That is, except (since 2003) ASA, since Charles did not score.

Play: Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, Charles on 1B, 2 out. Daniels gets a hit off the fence. Abel scores, Baker scores but missed home, Charles scores. Daniels missed 1B and is out at home for out #3. The defense appeals Baker's miss of home. Fourth out. Baker's run is nullified. Then the defense appeals Daniels' miss of 1B. Fifth out, no runs score. If course, the appeal on Baker is not necessary, since a fourth-out appeal on Daniels at 1B would nullify all runs anyway.

That's every code I know, except ASA since 2003.

On that play ASA would nullify Baker's run for missing home but not Charles's run, since the appeal on Daniels was on a runner who did not score. Now whether ASA still permits the appeal at 1B for the purposes of turning Daniels' triple into an out at 1B is another story.

Of course, there are many codes. I don't know them all.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
One thing that I'm confused with is the appeal for the BR missing 1B. Is this considered a force out? Or just an appeal for a missed base and hence a timing play?

Speaking Softball Canada, additional outs may be made so long as they are to remove runs--it doesn't matter whether the runner being appealed actually scored or not. No runners may score if a preceding runner is the 3rd or later out, and no runners may score if the 3rd or later out is a force. So in the OP, the appeal for the BR missing first base would only nullify the run if the appeal is considered a force out. If not, it's a timing play, and since no succeeding runner scored, there is no point to the appeal. Game over.


Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
Play: Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, Charles on 1B, 2 out. Daniels gets a hit off the fence. Abel scores, Baker scores but missed home, Charles scores. Daniels missed 1B and is out at home for out #3. The defense appeals Baker's miss of home. Fourth out.
Again speaking Softball Canada, this fourth out would negate both Baker's run AND Charles' run.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebur
Or just an appeal for a missed base and hence a timing play?
It is an appeal play and not a force. When the runner passed the base the force was dropped and he/she can only be called out on appeal.

A runner is assumed to have touched a base once they have passed it. They would be called out for missing the base but runs scored prior to the appeal would not be nullified.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu_bawls
It is an appeal play and not a force. When the runner passed the base the force was dropped and he/she can only be called out on appeal.

A runner is assumed to have touched a base once they have passed it. They would be called out for missing the base but runs scored prior to the appeal would not be nullified.
What?? Where do you get that from? Speaking ASA;

Yes, a runner is assumed to have touched a base when passing it; that only means that an appeal must now be made, not that a force is dropped. The first baseman holding the ball cannot "accidently" get the runner out by belatedly stepping on the base or tagging the runner without an associated appeal. And, by definition, the batter-runner needing to touch first is not a force to begin with; read the definition of a force.

But, no run can score on a play where the third out is made by the batter-runner failing to reach first base safely; and that is what the appeal accomplishes. BR is out, and no run can score on the play, same as if it were a force out.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu_bawls
It is an appeal play and not a force. When the runner passed the base the force was dropped and he/she can only be called out on appeal.

A runner is assumed to have touched a base once they have passed it. They would be called out for missing the base but runs scored prior to the appeal would not be nullified.
blu_bawls, you are 99% wrong. The only reason for the 1% allowance here is the continuing "is the out on the BR at first an force?" Makes no difference. The appeal of a BR missing 1B IS NOT a timing play. If it is the 3rd out of the inning NO RUNS will score.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
OK. Thank you for your response.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Thanks for the patient feedback to my confusion!

I have searched our ruleset (Softball Canada) more carefully and found the following confirmation under the rule for scoring of runs:

Quote:
Rule 5-8b. A run shall not be scored if the last out of the inning is a result of:

1) The batter-runner being put out before legally touching first base.
2) A runer is forced out (including on an appeal play) due to the batter becoming a batter-runner.
I had always missed the phrase "including on an appeal play" in sub-article 2, and checking the total of 10 types of appeals (11 in slo-pitch), none of them could have anything to do with a force EXCEPT appealing a runner for missing a base. So such an appeal CAN be a force. . .though an appeal on the BR for missing 1B is technically not a force and is covered in sub-article 1.

Thanks again for helping me learn something that I had completely overlooked before.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1