![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
How could you possibly have R1 or R2 out for abandonment prior to R3 scoring? They didn't abandon (according to OP) until they saw the run score. And abandonment is not typically a call that is made while the ball is still being thrown around in any case.
Technically, I suppose the cases could be made that the runners eventually abandoned their bases, and called out, but since BR was put out at first, these outs would be timing plays after the run had scored, and thus irrelevant.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Well I agree with all of you guys.
There is no rule that says the runner has to go directly to 2nd base from first or to 3rd from 2nd. Otherwise we would be calling baseline infractions for every player that rounds the bag to wide. The losing team was grasping at straws out of the baseline, abandonment. All of the options they were choosing were options that did not change the run scoring before the last out. Anyway, this play was talked about for the whole weekend. Anyone that asked me about it was told. I didnt see the play, but from what I heard the rule was applied correctly. The only option the defense had was to get the force at 2nd and then 1st. The ruling was upheld by the UIC of the tourney. Needless to say, the ump making that call was under the gun for every game from there out. I feel bad for the guy, since he is a friend of mine. He got verbally berated over and over again for making the correct call. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If they were fans of one of the teams in the game, have a discussion with the coach. Ask for his help in controlling his fans. Suspend the game until either the TD handles it or the coach does.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Had this in a HS game a few years ago - only difference was the winning run was walked in. According to NF ruling, the only players that need to complete their passage to the next base was the BR and R3. If there had been 2 outs and the BR did not touch first - they could have put her out, but not R2 and R1.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter NFHS, NCAA, NAIA The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Runner caused fielder to change direction?? | WAZebra | Softball | 4 | Wed Mar 15, 2006 05:12pm |
| A weekend of first | LarryS | Basketball | 4 | Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:12pm |
| I know we've covered this a lot and it's caused a lot of argument but... | ref18 | Basketball | 6 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:02pm |
| Time To Stir the Pot!! | BktBallRef | Basketball | 34 | Fri Dec 19, 2003 09:18am |
| What a weekend! | Steve M | Softball | 1 | Mon Jul 16, 2001 10:05pm |