![]() |
|
|
|||
batting out of order?
An improper batter (someone batting out of order) completes at bat and gets out. Defensive team notices than appeals. Is the batter that failed to bat in the proper order out too?
Thanks |
|
|||
If dicovered before the next pitch (legal or illegal), the out would be recorded to the proper batter/runner and the batter immediately following the proper batter would be required to come to the plate for her turn.
|
|
|||
So, the out would not be credited to the improper batter who already got out. So, only one out would come of this even though the improper batter already got out and the appeal was made before the next pitch. The out would be credited to the proper batter who failed to bat in his/her spot?
|
|
|||
Yes
Yes. The correct batter (CB) would say to the improper batter (IB) as she returns to the dug out, "Thanks for hitting for me. I wish I would have been safe."
Then the next batter who follows the CB in the line up would swing away. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning" ![]() |
|
|||
Doesn't the out stand in ASA?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
In ASA - yes In NFHS - no Not sure about the rest of the alphabet soup (NSA, USSSA, AFA, USFA, etc...)
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
To expound a bit as this is a big difference between ASA and NFHS (High School) rules:
If BOO is appealed at end of Improper Batter’s (IB) time at bat and before next pitch etc. then… In NFHS: the IB’s out or her existence on base goes “poof”. She is erased. But any other outs that were made on the IB’s turn at bat stand. Any other runners who advanced on the last pitch of the IB’s time at bat are returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. The batter who should have batted is out for BOO. In ASA: all the outs made on the IB’s time at bat stand. If the IB is on base she goes “poof” but she is not an out. She is erased. All other runners return to the base occupied at the time of the last pitch of IB’s turn at bat. Just like NHFS, the batter who should have batted is out for BOO. Example: R1 on 1B, no out. B3 bats in B2s turn. B3 hits ground ball to F6 who plays to F4 who relays to F3 to complete the double play. Def coach requests time and appeals BOO. NFHS Ruling: B3 and her out are erased. R1’s out stands. B2 is declared out for BOO. Two outs. B3 bats again. ASA Ruling: All outs on the time at bat stand, any advance (none in this case) would be nullified. B2 is declared out for BOO. Three outs. B3 is the proper batter in the next inning. Reading the Little League Softball rule on BOO (6.07) I come away with the interpretation that they mimic ASA although it is worded differently. 6.07(b)2 says nullify any advance or score, but nowhere does it say to nullify any outs. More learned LL colleagues, what say you? Anyone with answers on other flavors? NCAA? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
batting out of order | scyguy | Baseball | 10 | Sun May 08, 2005 08:28pm |
"Another" Batting Out Of Order | rj | Softball | 6 | Thu May 05, 2005 08:01pm |
Batting Order | rwest | Softball | 25 | Fri Feb 25, 2005 04:05pm |
Batting out of order. | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 6 | Mon May 10, 2004 11:02pm |
Batting out of order | Bdogg | Softball | 3 | Mon Apr 28, 2003 10:41pm |