The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   batting out of order? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/26812-batting-out-order.html)

fan Wed May 31, 2006 09:57am

batting out of order?
 
An improper batter (someone batting out of order) completes at bat and gets out. Defensive team notices than appeals. Is the batter that failed to bat in the proper order out too?

Thanks

blu_bawls Wed May 31, 2006 10:04am

If dicovered before the next pitch (legal or illegal), the out would be recorded to the proper batter/runner and the batter immediately following the proper batter would be required to come to the plate for her turn.

fan Wed May 31, 2006 10:10am

So, the out would not be credited to the improper batter who already got out. So, only one out would come of this even though the improper batter already got out and the appeal was made before the next pitch. The out would be credited to the proper batter who failed to bat in his/her spot?

LMan Wed May 31, 2006 10:24am

Correct. The proper batter is called out, and the improper batter removed from the bases. The next batter is the one that follows the called-out batter's position in the batting order.

blu_bawls Wed May 31, 2006 10:29am

Yes
 
Yes. The correct batter (CB) would say to the improper batter (IB) as she returns to the dug out, "Thanks for hitting for me. I wish I would have been safe."

Then the next batter who follows the CB in the line up would swing away.

tcblue13 Wed May 31, 2006 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
Correct. The proper batter is called out, and the improper batter removed from the bases. The next batter is the one that follows the called-out batter's position in the batting order.

Even if it is the improper batter

CecilOne Wed May 31, 2006 10:52am

Doesn't the out stand in ASA?

LMan Wed May 31, 2006 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
Even if it is the improper batter


Yes. Its entirely possible to remove the improper batter from a base and put him/her at bat to try again.

baldgriff Wed May 31, 2006 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fan
An improper batter (someone batting out of order) completes at bat and gets out . Defensive team notices than appeals. Is the batter that failed to bat in the proper order out too?

Thanks

The improper batter made an out. Do you have an out for the play and an out for the BOO is the question.

justmom Wed May 31, 2006 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fan
So, the out would not be credited to the improper batter who already got out. So, only one out would come of this even though the improper batter already got out and the appeal was made before the next pitch. The out would be credited to the proper batter who failed to bat in his/her spot?

FED rule 7.1.2 effect: The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). Any other outs on the play stand.

LMan Wed May 31, 2006 11:04am

except that an out for BOO supersedes an out made by the batter-runner. All other outs gained on the play stand.

justmom Wed May 31, 2006 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
except that an out for BOO supersedes an out made by the batter-runner. All other outs gained on the play stand.

Not sure what you are saying here...could you reference a rule either FED or ASA?

tcblue13 Wed May 31, 2006 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
Yes. Its entirely possible to remove the improper batter from a base and put him/her at bat to try again.

That's the point I was making

LMan Wed May 31, 2006 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justmom
Not sure what you are saying here...could you reference a rule either FED or ASA?

My emphasis:

FED rule 7.1.2 EFFECT: The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). Any other outs on the play stand. All runners who were not declared out must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch....

Andy Wed May 31, 2006 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fan
An improper batter (someone batting out of order) completes at bat and gets out. Defensive team notices than appeals. Is the batter that failed to bat in the proper order out too?

Thanks

Short answer to original question:

In ASA - yes
In NFHS - no

Not sure about the rest of the alphabet soup (NSA, USSSA, AFA, USFA, etc...)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1