The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
10U ASA Question

Remember this is 10U and this happened to me Saturday and could have been a lot more exciting than it turned out. R1 steals home from 3B and crosses home plate. F3 has ball. R1 starts back to 3B at coaches' urging. Is she now liable to be put out on her way from the home plate area back towards 3B. What if she is near the dugout when she starts back? What if she enters the dugout?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The thing to remember about 10U baserunning rules is...

Nothing changes except for the base that a baserunner is eligible to advance to. All other baserunning rules apply.

Once the runner has reached home, she is no longer in jepoardy of being tagged out (same as any other runner), but she will not be allowed to score. After the play, she will be placed back on 3B.

If she attempts to return to 3B on her own, when she is between home and 3B, she has again placed herself in jeopardy of being tagged.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Dakota, I disagree.

You are correct that the only change at 10U that applies here is that she can't score. But at any other age group, a runner cannot put themselves back on the basepaths once they've legally scored. Therefore this particular runner in 10U is not putting themselves back on the basepaths after they've legally scored, even if prompted by her coach. Consider the case of a 14U runner who runs from 3rd and scores, but her coach directs her to return to third because he mistakenly thinks the ball was caught. This runner cannot "unscore" if she does not have reason to return to third, and is not in jeopardy as she returns to third base.

The 10U runner in question was in jeopardy while she advanced toward home. But after scoring, she simply gets placed back on third by the umpire. She is not in jeopardy whether the umpire or the coach directs her to return.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Dakota, I disagree. ... But at any other age group, a runner cannot put themselves back on the basepaths once they've legally scored. ....
What about a runner who is returning to touch third?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
If she is returning because she has a legitimate reason to return (left early, missed base, etc), then she IS liable to be put out on her way back.

But if it turns out she did not have legitimate reason to return, she cannot "unscore", and is not in jeopardy.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 11:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Why does F3 have the ball and why is the coach urging R1 to return to third. I think I am just missing something. (maybe my frontal lobe)
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 06:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder

The 10U runner in question was in jeopardy while she advanced toward home. But after scoring, she simply gets placed back on third by the umpire. She is not in jeopardy whether the umpire or the coach directs her to return.
Well, as much as I would like to agree with you, especially at the 10U level, I believe the statement above isn't true.

If it were, a runner could never return to 3B after touching home on a base left too early.

And even as ridiculous as it seems, since ASA has now ruled that a BR can reinstate the "force" (for lack of better words) at 1B if s/he passes the base going back toward home, I cannot see any other option on the given scenario than the runner placing themself in jeopardy by attempting to return to 3B.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 07:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
It doesn't really matter who has the ball, just making a point that it is still in play and is not in the circle. The defense was confused, the 1B coach thought he knew what was going on. The play started out with R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B. They steal and the ball ends up in the OF so they advance an extra base at the 3B coach's urging. I just stood and watched as the ball was returned to the infield and the 1B coach started urging the runners to return. As it turned out the defense had no idea what to do and the defensive coach yelled at them to ask for time which I granted since no one was trying to make a play and the runners had by that time returned.

We have good responses but different answers to the original question. My question relates to R1 after she crosses home plate. At the time if she had been tagged while running back to 3B I would have called her out but am still not sure if it is the right call. Did she have to retouch home plate? I don't think she's out if she enters the dugout, just place her back on 3B. What if she runs back to 3B after almost entering the dugout.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Reinstating the force is a different issue, and deals with a runner who has not scored. A runner who has scored has a different status than a live runner.

Mike - let me ask it this way, in a higher level game. 14U, say. R1 on third, coming home on a squeeze. Bunt is popped up and R1 crosses the plate. F1 makes a diving attempt, but fails to catch the ball. 3BCoach yells at runner to return as he thought the ball was caught, and R1 retouches home and makes it 4-5 steps back toward third base before noticing umpire ruling safe on the no-catch by F1. F1 throws home and F2 tags runner. Do you have an out? Or is R1 simply not allowed to "unscore"?

2nd sitch - R1 on third, passed ball. R1 scores easily, but just barely touches the plate (which PU sees). Coaches and fans start yelling at the runner to touch home as F2 starts to tag her, and R1 sees her path to the plate blocked, so runs to third base and makes it safely. Where do you place R1? Does she score, or do you leave her on third.

I believe the answer to the first is that she is not out, and the 2nd is that she scores. If you agree to these, then the same logic applies to the runner in the OP - she has scored, and cannot reestablish herself as a runner, thus cannot create a situation where she can be tagged. the ONLY difference at 10U is that you simply return the runner to third base after "scoring". If there is a reason to treat the 10U runner differently than the 14U runner, please point me to a rule or POE, as I can find no reason to rule differently.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 16, 2006, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
At the time if she had been tagged while running back to 3B I would have called her out but am still not sure if it is the right call.
Unfortunately, ASA does not have a case play on this situation. I believe she is back in jeopardy, and can be tagged out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
Did she have to retouch home plate?
This is interesting - is she subject to appeal if she did not touch home? I believe so. The defense would have to appeal the missed base, though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
I don't think she's out if she enters the dugout, just place her back on 3B.
Correct. She is just not eligible to stay there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
What if she runs back to 3B after almost entering the dugout.
Then she is merely back on 3rd.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1