The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

Absolutely. The ball's status is determined by it's location at the time of the interference. What would have, could have, should have happened is irrelevant. INT freezes the play. ASA Rule 1, FAIR BALL.D
So does it freeze it if contact occurs while the ball is foul? Does that change the sitch? And how would you have reacted to the play I describe a couple of posts above?

The real question - Is it interference if contact occurs while a ground ball is in foul territory? And if so, what's the penalty? And if it's not, then since we haven't killed the ball, what to do if it subsequently rolls fair?
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
So does it freeze it if contact occurs while the ball is foul? Does that change the sitch? And how would you have reacted to the play I describe a couple of posts above?

The real question - Is it interference if contact occurs while a ground ball is in foul territory? And if so, what's the penalty? And if it's not, then since we haven't killed the ball, what to do if it subsequently rolls fair?
Yes, if freezes the play - definition FOUL BALL - D (ASA).

If a runner interferes with a fielder attempting field a batted ball over foul territory, it is by definition a foul ball.

The call is dead ball, foul, runner return, batter back in the box.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 10, 2006, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
The real question - Is it interference if contact occurs while a ground ball is in foul territory?
Once again, if you are calling NFHS (and ASA) and the offender is a runner, the answer is NO. NFHS 8-6.10: The runner is out if the runner interferes (a) with a fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball, or (b) with a fielder attempting to field a fly ball over foul territory.

However, if it the batter-runner is the offender, then we call interference. NFHS 8-2.6 The batter-runner is out if she interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball.

Yes, that is inconsistant. But it is that way because NFHS copied ASA verbatim (ASA 8-7.J 1 & 2, and 8-2.F). And because ASA was inconsistant before, now both rule sets rule a similiar situation differently, depending on whether the interfence is on the 3B line or the 1B line.

WMB

Last edited by WestMichBlue; Wed May 10, 2006 at 09:05pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference/obstruction vs. fair/foul KentuckyBlue Softball 4 Mon Oct 13, 2003 09:07pm
Fair or Foul Gre144 Baseball 18 Sun Jun 29, 2003 12:20am
Fair or Foul? JustaFan2 Softball 2 Tue Jun 17, 2003 06:52pm
Fair or foul??? ahouk Baseball 6 Wed Jun 04, 2003 03:09pm
fair or foul ??? bobbrix Softball 4 Wed Apr 09, 2003 10:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1