The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Mike, while I agree with your interpretation, I can’t find it in the book. I mean, obviously when the umpire calls “TIME” runners have to return to the base last legally touched. But I think it is simply an implied rule. Perhaps it should be added to ASA 8-6/NFHS 8-5 “A Runner Must Return To Their Base”.

ASA 8-3-E/NFHS 8-3-7 deals with which runner has a right to the base when two runners occupy the same base. R2 was not forced to 3B. However, if R2 touched 3B before R1 got back to 3B then R2 owns the bag and R1 would be out if tagged. If the play is killed at this point (oops!) then the last base legally touched by both runners is 3B, and since by rule they can’t both be there R2 goes back rather than R1 moving forward. The premature dead ball call has saved the offense an almost certain out, they don’t get a bonus base on top of it!

I think the rule writers simply assume we will be smart enough not to call “TIME” for no reason when two runners are on the same base!

Ernie
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ten Mile, Tn
Posts: 236
A runner cannot legally occupy a base legally occupied by another runner. R1 occupies 3rd until she attains the next base (scores).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 11:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
This kind of reminds me of the old Harlem Globetrotter's trick:

A Globtrotter is about to make a wide open layup, but just before he shoots, calls for time out. Whistle blows, time out is granted, players start leaving the floor. The Globetrotter yells "time back in" and makes the layup.

It's like a "pause" button on the game! Stop play until you figure out what's happenning, then just instruct the players to resume from where they stopped.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 01, 2006, 02:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley
A runner cannot legally occupy a base legally occupied by another runner. R1 occupies 3rd until she attains the next base (scores).
Thanks, Smiey! The light bulb came on.

For other readers, see ASA 8-3-B/NFHS 8-3-3. As Smiley says, R1 owns the base until she touches home or is forced off 3B, no matter who touches the base first.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 01, 2006, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie
Mike, while I agree with your interpretation, I can’t find it in the book. I mean, obviously when the umpire calls “TIME” runners have to return to the base last legally touched. But I think it is simply an implied rule. Perhaps it should be added to ASA 8-6/NFHS 8-5 “A Runner Must Return To Their Base”.
Speaking ASA

You cannot find the order in which runners are to touch the bases, either, but we all know it is 1st, 2nd, 3rd, then home.

The book specifically notes which runner has the right to occupy the base. The defense is responsible to know how to retire a runner not in contact with the proper base.

I believe there may be a play in the case book (though on the LBR, it still prescribed the appropriate umpire action) and numerous posts on this board supporting my interpretation.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 01, 2006, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
There is an ASA case play (too lazy to look it up right now...) that if the defense is indifferent to the 2 runners on the base, the umpire is to call TIME and place the runners on their legal bases. So, the umpires placing the runners is not the issue here; it is the premature calling of TIME.

However, like an inadvertant whistle in football, the ball is still dead.

My guess on what the umpires told the coaches: "This was our error. We are going to resume play. Do not instruct your players. Let the players work it out."
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad decisions by players and/or coaches l3will Football 16 Tue Sep 27, 2005 11:12am
It was a night for the bizarre... williebfree Basketball 3 Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:24am
Really Bizarre Test Question rainmaker Basketball 7 Wed Nov 27, 2002 02:01am
Bizarre game - even for me! Mark Padgett Basketball 10 Mon Nov 25, 2002 06:23pm
Bizarre coach behavior - twice! Mark Padgett Basketball 7 Fri Jul 13, 2001 11:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1