The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 08:33am
Official Forum Member

LBR and Site Admin Issues

I'm a second year umpire but this is my first year doing fast pitch. I'd like some advice about something I encountered last night doing a JV game, and it's a two part question. Here's the situation: Visiting team at bat, two outs, R1 on first base and B hits a double, advancing R1 to third base. I'm the PU and I'm up the line when the ball comes back in and is returned to the pitcher. I'm watching R1 as I head back behind the plate.

As the next batter is coming up to the plate, I hear some ranting and raving coming from the score booth. This was a nice field with an elevated booth, so I'm 100% positive that it's coming from up over my head rather than from one of the few spectators standing in the general area behind home plate. Their problem was that they felt that the BR now on second base should have been called out for not returning to second base quickly enough when the pitcher had the ball in the circle.

The first part of my question deals with my responsibility in that situation. As the PU, should I be looking at all runners rather than just the lead runner in that situation? My partner informed me in our postgame meeting that he saw the BR on second "dancing around" but for whatever reason he did not call her out.