The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Streamwood, Illinois
Posts: 38
This is my first post to this forum and have a question for everyone.

A foul occurs inside the semi-cicle above the free-throw line and below the 3-point arc. This is not a shooting foul and no bonus is involved. Where should the throw in be administered. I had this occur in a game last week and wanted to get other opinions. I put the ball in on the side and caught an ear-full from the coach that was fouled.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 04:27pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
If I'm reading this correct, it should have been placed down on the baseline. Check out page 21 of the Officials Manual (NFHS).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally posted by ref49873
This is my first post to this forum and have a question for everyone.

A foul occurs inside the semi-cicle above the free-throw line and below the 3-point arc. This is not a shooting foul and no bonus is involved. Where should the throw in be administered. I had this occur in a game last week and wanted to get other opinions. I put the ball in on the side and caught an ear-full from the coach that was fouled.

Thanks
Welcome, as you will realize you will become a better official by coming here.

In reference to you question, you will administer your throw-in from the endline.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 504
I'm sure others will correct me if I get this wrong...but I THINK the technical answer is to (when viewing the court from the leads position) envision a triangle with the baseline as the base and the other point being where the semi-cirle above the free-throw line and arc meet.

Had a veteran official tell me early on to use the 3-point arch as a guide...if it happens inside...go baseline. If it happens outside...go sideline.

Never had a complaint using that as a guide.
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault...I said I was going to blame you.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Streamwood, Illinois
Posts: 38
Thanks everyone. That answered my question.

Tjones1...I found the diagram in the officials manual, I didn't think the circle above the line went to the endline for throw-ins. Learned something new for the day.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 05:16pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Thumbs up

Glad to help. You've got it now. The scary thing is that the five numbers in your posting name is my official ID, if you switch two numbers around.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1