The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2006, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 132
Smile 3 foot lane

NF fast pitch. Bases loaded 1 out. Batter/Runner hits a ground ball to pitcher.
Pitcher goes to catcher at home for force out. Catcher who is completely behind home plate then throws to first to get the B/R. The throw hits the B/R in the back about 1 step from 1st base. Home plate umpire calls the B/R out for being inside the 3 foot lane. Is this the correct call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 06:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ten Mile, Tn
Posts: 236
Inside the 3 ft. lane is where the B-R is supposed to be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 07:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
If you meant "inside" as in on the inner side of the line into fair territory, then yes, this is the right call. If you meant "inside" as in within the 3 foot lane that he is required to be in, then obviously and emphatically no. Barring intent, BR cannot be called out for interference if he is INSIDE (ie between the fair/foul line and the outside line) the 3-foot lane.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
If the question is whether the catcher being in foul ground affects the rule, it does not. If the BR was inside the lane and the ump called it based on the BR having to get out of the way of a foul ground throw by moving out of the lane, that is wrong. The only exception to the lane rule is avoiding a fielder fielding a batted ball.

The only "rule" (non-NFHS) affected by the source of the throw is the double-base.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley
Inside the 3 ft. lane is where the B-R is supposed to be.
Is a batter runner considered to be in the lane if she's running with one foot in the lane and ther other foot on the fair side of the baseline between 1rst and 2nd???? In other words does the runner have to be completely in the lane?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
If the BR is running with her feet on the line she is considered within the 3' lane. If her whole foot is outside the line she is outside the lane. It is the same as making contact with the ball when she is batting. If she is making contact with the line she is in. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Is a batter runner considered to be in the lane if she's running with one foot in the lane and ther other foot on the fair side of the baseline between 1rst and 2nd???? In other words does the runner have to be completely in the lane?

If a thrown ball hits the part of the BR's body outside the running lane and it keeps the defender from catching the ball, it's INT.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Is a batter runner considered to be in the lane if she's running with one foot in the lane and ther other foot on the fair side of the baseline between 1rst and 2nd???? In other words does the runner have to be completely in the lane?

If a thrown ball hits the part of the BR's body outside the running lane and it keeps the defender from catching the ball, it's INT.
That's very unlike you, Mike... this doesn't answer his question at all.

You're implying here that the ball has to hit BR. We both know that's not true, and your statement doesn't help the situation where the ball does not strike the BR, and BR is running along the line as described.

In the case described, if BR is running with one foot in, and one foot out, and she interferes with the fielder's opportunity to catch a thrown ball, I have interference.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2006, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbret
The throw hits the B/R in the back about 1 step from 1st base.
Did you have a double base?

If no, then HTBT, but this sounds like it might have been a questionable call.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Can we get a restatement of the OP with clarification of "inside the 3 foot lane"?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Posts: 53
After re-reading all the posts I've managed to confuse myself, as all I was trying to clarify was whether the "batter-runners" entire body had to be "INSIDE" the 3' running lane to be protected from being called out for interfering with the fielder's opportunity to catch the throw from F2, or any other defensive player for that matter, to make a play on her. For example if the batter-runner is 5 steps from 1rst base and totally in the lane and get's pluncked in the back by a less than perfect throw from F1 I believe she's protected barring intent. But in that same scenario what if she's straddling the baseline, from HP to 1rst base and get's hit on her left shoulder which isn't actually in the lane is she out? This of course is assuming F3 is unable to make the catch? Sorry if I'm over analyzing this one, as I'm just trying to get it clear in my head so I can make the proper call when the time comes!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by msrock1954
For example if the batter-runner is 5 steps from 1rst base and totally in the lane and get's pluncked in the back by a less than perfect throw from F1 I believe she's protected barring intent. But in that same scenario what if she's straddling the baseline, from HP to 1rst base and get's hit on her left shoulder which isn't actually in the lane is she out? This of course is assuming F3 is unable to make the catch? Sorry if I'm over analyzing this one, as I'm just trying to get it clear in my head so I can make the proper call when the time comes!!!
I believe I already answered this question.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2006, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Mike has actually answered you; but, I find that sometimes it helps if someone else rephrases an answer.

If a batter-runner interferes with the possible catch of a throw in fair territory by a fielder in position to make that catch, that is a violation of the 3foot running lane rule. The interference can be by contacting the ball or screening the fielder, either intentionally or inadvertantly; but the interference, if it occurs, must happen over fair territory, regardless how much of the BR may be in foul territory.

The exception to this rule in ASA is if the play is coming from foul territory to begin with, and the fielder chooses the orange (foul territory) base when a double base exists, then the batter-runner is given an equivalent 3 foot running lane in fair territory, since she may then use the white (fair) first base. In that case, the runner actually has a 6 foot running, 3 feet on either side of the fair line. To my knowledge, NFHS does not have an equivalent exception, and it does not apply in NCAA, which doesn't use a double base.

Does that rewording make it clearer?
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
foot out of the box Little Jimmy Softball 6 Sun Aug 03, 2003 06:09pm
One foot OOB... Dan_ref Basketball 6 Fri May 09, 2003 03:53pm
Three Foot Running Lane batterup Baseball 5 Wed Jun 06, 2001 10:06am
B with foot OOB rainmaker Basketball 3 Thu Feb 15, 2001 02:27pm
One foot or Two Art N Basketball 2 Tue Feb 22, 2000 10:18am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1