The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ten Mile, Tn
Posts: 236
Text book obstruction, as far as I can tell.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
I would like for someone on the forum to detail the mechanics of an obstruction call.

Sitch: R1 on 1B, B3 hits line drive to LF, moving in to cover 2B F4 obstructs R1 just before she rounds 2B not a crash but some contact is made. F7 pegs the throw to F5 for the out on R1 at 3B. F5 then throws to F4 and the BR is tagged out at 2B.

At what point in the play is obstruction called? Is the play killed as soon as the tag is made at third or does the delayed dead ball signal (which I assume is given at the monent of obstruction) allow the play to conclude with the play at second?

If someone would walk through this play and break it down at each point when the Ump takes action, that would be helpful to me.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ten Mile, Tn
Posts: 236
You call the obstruction when it occurs by signalling a delayed dead ball and verbally stating "obstruction". As soon as the runner is put out before reaching the base that would have been reached had there been no obstruction, you kill the play. In your sitch, if you believe the runner would have reached third safely had she not been obstructed, you kill the play and award bases. If you believe she would have been out at third regardless, let the play go.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2006, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
I would like for someone on the forum to detail the mechanics of an obstruction call.

Sitch: R1 on 1B, B3 hits line drive to LF, moving in to cover 2B F4 obstructs R1 just before she rounds 2B not a crash but some contact is made. F7 pegs the throw to F5 for the out on R1 at 3B. F5 then throws to F4 and the BR is tagged out at 2B.

At what point in the play is obstruction called? Is the play killed as soon as the tag is made at third or does the delayed dead ball signal (which I assume is given at the monent of obstruction) allow the play to conclude with the play at second?

If someone would walk through this play and break it down at each point when the Ump takes action, that would be helpful to me.
Speaking ASA

Obstruction is called when you see it. Only give the DDB signal. No reason to run around with your wing flapping in the air, but hold the signal for a few seconds to give the coachs a chance to see it. ASA does not call for a pronouncement of "obstruction".

However, there are some who will suggest giving a verbal and there is nothing stating an umpire cannot. I stopped giving a verbal when I was working a HS game, ruled DDB and said "obstruction" and every player on the infield stopped playing an looked to me for a call. A simple non-required call caused the game to come to a halt. That shouldn't happen, so I no longer open my mouth.

If the runner is put out, or all play is obviously over prior to the obstructed runner reaching the base to which you provided protection, you rule the ball dead and award the appropriate base to that runner and any other runner affected by the OBS.

If the runner passes the base to which they were protected, the OBS call is negated and the runner is now in jeopardy even if put out returning to the base to which she was protected. If the runner safely attains the base to which they were protected, even if it was the base on the back end of the OBS and leaves that base during a subsequent play on another runner, s/he is now in jeopardy to be retired even if that takes place between the bases where the runner was obstructed.

In your play, only you can determine whether R1 is protected to 3B. If no, then R1 is out and play continues. If yes, the ball is dead the moment R1 is tagged out. R1 is awarded 3B and R2 is safe at 2B as long as that runner was more than half way to 2B at the time of the tag on R1. If not, that R2 is returned to 1B.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 122
The defensive player impeded--obstructed-- the offensivie player from reaching the base by blocking the bag with her foot without secured possession of the ball. Delayed dead-ball signal, and wait for the play to end before penalizing.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
[QUOTE=IRISHMAFIA]Speaking ASA

Obstruction is called when you see it. Only give the DDB signal. No reason to run around with your wing flapping in the air, but hold the signal for a few seconds to give the coachs a chance to see it. ASA does not call for a pronouncement of "obstruction".

Mike,

I have always had a problem with the DDB signal for obstruction, i.e., how does the runner and/or coach know to what base we are protecting the runner? We may not think it is important, but I believe savy runners/coaches will use the protection to take at least that base, where inexperienced runners will not contiune to the protected base.

I have always felt it was incumbant upon us as officials to communicate with the participants any rulings we make that can affect their decision making. If they don't know to where they are protected, we are forcing them to read our minds, possibly limiting their choices.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
[QUOTE=MNBlue]
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

Obstruction is called when you see it. Only give the DDB signal. No reason to run around with your wing flapping in the air, but hold the signal for a few seconds to give the coachs a chance to see it. ASA does not call for a pronouncement of "obstruction".

Mike,

I have always had a problem with the DDB signal for obstruction, i.e., how does the runner and/or coach know to what base we are protecting the runner? We may not think it is important, but I believe savy runners/coaches will use the protection to take at least that base, where inexperienced runners will not contiune to the protected base.

I have always felt it was incumbant upon us as officials to communicate with the participants any rulings we make that can affect their decision making. If they don't know to where they are protected, we are forcing them to read our minds, possibly limiting their choices.
We cannot inform people during a play what the award is going to be, and while it's important to US, it should not be important to savy runners/coaches. Why does it matter AT ALL if the inexperienced or experienced runner continues to the awarded base? Our ruling should NOT affect their decision making, and I can't think of a case where it would.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
I misspoke in the prior post. I was initially thinking of runners continuing past protected base when I typed not continuing to the protected base. Obviously, we would award the base if the runner stopped short.

This is one scenario. BR hits what I think is a double, gets obstructed rounding first, and continues to third. I have the BR protected to second, she goes to third and gets thrown out. I call her out at third, and the coach tells me of the obstruction and how she can't be out and now I get to explain to the coach that she put herself in jeopardy because I only protected her to second. How was the BR or the coach to know that I only protected the BR to second? Do they need to know?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
They don't need to know that you might be awarding 3rd base. If you were, and she stopped at 2nd, you would award 3rd. If you weren't, and she stopped at 2nd, you wouldn't. All that the coach should be doing at this point is telling her to run if she will be safe. The umpire will award if necessary afterward. A coach trying to get a player to advance an extra base on the chance that that base might be awarded anyway is a stupid coach. It's all risk, no reward.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue

Mike,

I have always had a problem with the DDB signal for obstruction, i.e., how does the runner and/or coach know to what base we are protecting the runner? We may not think it is important, but I believe savy runners/coaches will use the protection to take at least that base, where inexperienced runners will not contiune to the protected base.

I have always felt it was incumbant upon us as officials to communicate with the participants any rulings we make that can affect their decision making. If they don't know to where they are protected, we are forcing them to read our minds, possibly limiting their choices.
I have no such problem. As far as I'm concerned, the players and coaches should be playing and coaching based on the play as it unfolds in front of them. An OBS call is not a strategy, nor should it provide one
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
are they kidding? ajjl22 Baseball 13 Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:50pm
I honestly wanted to ask if he was kidding LarryS Basketball 7 Fri Dec 31, 2004 01:33am
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm
What do you do here? (GPS #8, just kidding :eek:) JRutledge Basketball 17 Tue Jan 08, 2002 03:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1