The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
Even if F1 did not make a play, the B-R was still allowed to stop (once). Then she would (immediately) continue to 2B, or return to 1B. After that, another stop or reversal would get her called out under the LBR.
WMB
Agree with you WMB.
Of course if there's a play or an attempt... it's a no brainer (don't you say this way? )
But even if there's a simple walk, BR is still allowed to pass 1B ant THEN decide what to do.

This is from ISF Rulebook:

Rule 8
Sec.9 RUNNER IS OUT

v. (FP ONLY) When he is legitimately off his base after a pitch, or as a result of a batter completing his turn at bat
and, while the pitcher has the ball within the pitcher's circle, he does not immediately return to his base, or
attempt to advance to the next base.
EFFECT - Sec. 9v:
1. The ball is dead and all other runners must return to the last legally held base at the time of the runner being
declared out.
2. Failure to immediately proceed to the next base, or return to his base, once the pitcher has the ball within the
pitcher's circle, shall result in the runner being declared out.
3. Once the runner returns to a base for any reason, he shall be declared out if he leaves said base.
EXCEPTION – Sec. 9v: A runner shall not be declared out if:
1. A play is made on him or another runner (a fake throw is considered a play), or
2. The pitcher no longer has possession of the ball within the pitcher’s circle, or
3. The pitcher releases the ball by a pitch to the batter.
NOTE: A base on balls, or dropped third strike in which the runner is entitled to run, is treated the same as a batted
ball.
(<=this bold is mine) The batter-runner may continue past first base, and is entitled to run toward second base, as long as he does not
stop at first base. If he stops after he rounds first base, he then must comply with EFFECT – Sec. 9v-2.w. When
he abandons a base and enters his team area, or leaves the field of play, while the ball is alive.
__________________
Antonella
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apply NFHS to WSH-Tampa Playoff FredFan7 Football 8 Mon Jan 09, 2006 01:18pm
Does pass interferance really apply? kbarnett Football 9 Fri Oct 29, 2004 05:18pm
Does PSK apply? GPC2 Football 2 Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:14am
I know the NFL rules don't apply to us, but... OverAndBack Football 7 Thu Aug 19, 2004 04:03am
Does forceouts apply to the goal line? Zeke5 Football 3 Tue Jul 03, 2001 10:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1