The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 05, 2006, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The exception would be if the stolen base took place on the pitch upon which the batter became the BR and then the BOO was properly appealed.

Therefore, is this the correct ASA ruling?:

Abel on 2B, no outs. Charles bats in Baker's spot. On ball 4 to Charles, Abel steals 3B. The appeal that Baker failed to bat in the proper order is upheld.

Baker is out and Charles bats again. Because Abel's advance took place on the pitch on which the batter became a baserunner, Abel must return to 2B.

This may well be the correct ruling, since "any advance" seems all-encompassing, a departure from the now-deleted "as a result of the improper batter becoming a BR" and the older "because of the improper batter's advance to 1B." And with the removal of those clauses, "any advance" could be interpreted to mean advances that occurred on previous pitches during the at bat, though I doubt that ASA intends that.

I wish this were clearer.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1