The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2006, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Walsh
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
I didn't mean to say it was a haven... I just meant to say that she gets a little more leeway while still in the box if it hits her before she can react - but once she realizes she needs to vacate, she better avoid interfering while she does, and her leeway evaporates.
With a play at the plate, she must vacate if she has time to. But she is not responsible for knowing where the ball ends up as a result of eh defensive misplay, and, for purposes of interference, ceases to be a batter and is treated like another teammate authorized to be on the field. Unless it is intentional, no interference.

Mike
Speaking ASA

Well, actually unless this batter is completing a swing, she must evacuate. She is also still the batter as defined in the rule book for the purpose of Rule 7. Also, it is only interference if the umpire judges the contact denied the C from making a play and it doesn't have to be intentional. (7.5.S)

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1