The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25039-situation.html)

Skahtboi Fri Feb 17, 2006 12:30pm

Last night's HS games were played on a field with a very shallow backstop, about 10-12 ft behind homeplate. It had a brick wall enclosure, with netting rising up in place of a fence. Several times wild pitches and passed balls (this was during the JV game) would rebound off of either the wall or the netting back into the direction of homeplate. My partner and I got to discussing this between games. What would happen, with a pending play from a runner stealing home from 3rd, if the batter, sensing "congestion" forming around the area of HP as the runner and pitcher converged, a)backed out of the box, accidentally kicking the rebounding ball while completely out of the box, or b) accidentally kicked the ball while backing out but still in the box; in both cases preventing the catcher from making a play.

I am primarily interested in hearing NFHS interps, but would welcome any others as well. (ASA, NCAA...etc.)

[Edited by Skahtboi on Feb 17th, 2006 at 12:32 PM]

Mike Walsh Fri Feb 17, 2006 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Skahtboi
Last night's HS games were played on a field with a very shallow backstop, about 10-12 ft behind homeplate. It had a brick wall enclosure, with netting rising up in place of a fence. Several times wild pitches and passed balls (this was during the JV game) would rebound off of either the wall or the netting back into the direction of homeplate. My partner and I got to discussing this between games. What would happen, with a pending play from a runner stealing home from 3rd, if the batter, sensing "congestion" forming around the area of HP as the runner and pitcher converged, a)backed out of the box, accidentally kicking the rebounding ball while completely out of the box, or b) accidentally kicked the ball while backing out but still in the box; in both cases preventing the catcher from making a play.

I am primarily interested in hearing NFHS interps, but would welcome any others as well. (ASA, NCAA...etc.)


[Edited by Skahtboi on Feb 17th, 2006 at 12:32 PM]

I would treat a) and b) the same way. Once the defense misplays the ball, if the batter is trying to get out of the way, I will let the play stand unless I judge intent to interfere.

Mike

mcrowder Fri Feb 17, 2006 01:29pm

Actually, once the batter leaves the box, she takes more responsibility for avoiding interference into her own hands.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Feb 17, 2006 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Actually, once the batter leaves the box, she takes more responsibility for avoiding interference into her own hands.
Speaking ASA

To a point. If there is a play at home, the BB is not a haven.

mcrowder Fri Feb 17, 2006 03:34pm

I didn't mean to say it was a haven... I just meant to say that she gets a little more leeway while still in the box if it hits her before she can react - but once she realizes she needs to vacate, she better avoid interfering while she does, and her leeway evaporates.

Mike Walsh Sat Feb 18, 2006 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
I didn't mean to say it was a haven... I just meant to say that she gets a little more leeway while still in the box if it hits her before she can react - but once she realizes she needs to vacate, she better avoid interfering while she does, and her leeway evaporates.
With a play at the plate, she must vacate if she has time to. But she is not responsible for knowing where the ball ends up as a result of eh defensive misplay, and, for purposes of interference, ceases to be a batter and is treated like another teammate authorized to be on the field. Unless it is intentional, no interference.

Mike

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mike Walsh
Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
I didn't mean to say it was a haven... I just meant to say that she gets a little more leeway while still in the box if it hits her before she can react - but once she realizes she needs to vacate, she better avoid interfering while she does, and her leeway evaporates.
With a play at the plate, she must vacate if she has time to. But she is not responsible for knowing where the ball ends up as a result of eh defensive misplay, and, for purposes of interference, ceases to be a batter and is treated like another teammate authorized to be on the field. Unless it is intentional, no interference.

Mike

Speaking ASA

Well, actually unless this batter is completing a swing, she must evacuate. She is also still the batter as defined in the rule book for the purpose of Rule 7. Also, it is only interference if the umpire judges the contact denied the C from making a play and it doesn't have to be intentional. (7.5.S)


Skahtboi Mon Feb 20, 2006 09:41am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:


Also, it is only interference if the umpire judges the contact denied the C from making a play and it doesn't have to be intentional. (7.5.S)

Nor does it in NFHS. Rule 7:3:5 reads:

"A batter shall not interfere with a catcher's fielding or throwing by leaning over home plate, by stepping out of the batter's box, by making any other motion which hinders action at home or the catcher's attempt to play on a runner, or by failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate congested area when there is a throw at home and time for a batter to move away."


Our conclusion that night was if a batter had prevented an otherwise routine out at the plate, we would have had to call interference.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1