The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 07, 2005, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Give Me a Ruling, Please?

Help me out here, I'm not an umpire, and we've discussed this 'round and 'round in my league...
ASA rules. Bases empty, a guy hits a double into the gap. Second baseman is crouched at the bag waiting for the throw to come in. As the runner approaches second base, the second-baseman whacks his fist into his glove in anticipation of the ball coming in to him. He doesn't move his glove towards the runner or apply a fake tag, but he whacks his fist into his glove. The runner comes in, but the shortstop cuts off the throw, so the ball never comes in to the waiting second-baseman. The umpire awarded a free base to the runner, saying the second-baseman, by whacking his glove and making a noise, was trying to deceive the runner.
Is this a good application of the rules? The runner should get a free base?
You make the call, please. Your thoughts welcome.

[Edited by ruffster22 on Nov 7th, 2005 at 05:21 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1